Vrsar to Rovinj - Kim and Glory - Europe - CycleBlaze

May 22, 2023

Vrsar to Rovinj

"the (tribe) hills have spoken"

Per my insider info about "Survivor," I saw the crew this morning and heard them talking.  I went over and said "hi" and that I loved the show.  Then I said, "No Jeff?"  The lady said, "Close."  I should have asked, "How close?" but didn't want to appear like a stalker.  Ha ha.  How cool would it have been to have met him?!  In the meantime, I had my own survivor story.  For example, "the hills have spoken" and I'm snuffed.  Get it?  ha ha

At 20-25 miles per day, I'm making very slow progress.  It's hot and humid now and my legs aren't ready for the hills.  I had an eight mile gentle climb this morning (not counting the short 9% grade that I walked up.)  I did great climbing all of that although it was a little hard.  Most of the grades were gentle.  I then proceeded to zoom down a long downhill, stopping for one quick photo.

Lim Fjord, Croatia
Heart 3 Comment 0

Little did I know, the climb on the other side about did me in.  It was about 1.8 miles (3km) long.  My legs were toast, the grade was steep in sections, it was hot and humid, and the road was so narrow when cars would come, it created a bit of a nightmare situation.  After numerous short stops for rest breaks, I gave up near the top and walked the rest of it.

This is me on the hill, NOT having fun.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I camped at a more "normal" campsite.  Normal, as in no swimming pool which kind of broke my heart.  I actually started heading to another mega resort just for the pool and I could pay a boat taxi to go to Rovinj.  They told me it was all flat.  They lied.  I got frustrated (plus I was heading in the wrong direction) and just went ahead and went back to that one.  On the plus side, I can walk into Rovinj from here.  It will be a nice change of pace.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Rovinj across the water. Time for a walk, and yes, I went up to the church at the top.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Cute cobblestone streets
Heart 1 Comment 0
No, I did not go up these stairs!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Almost to the church
Heart 0 Comment 0
The grounds around the church
Heart 0 Comment 0
People swimming in the Adriatic below. Looks like fun!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
If you really want to learn about the church
Heart 0 Comment 0
Inside the first church of my trip
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
More great views
Heart 0 Comment 0
Going down. So many cute shops
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Usually I think about stealing the Coke trucks. Today, I though about stealing this one!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
My friends in Ohio, have a son, grandson that loves a cartoon "Trash Truck." Here's a mini one that reminded me of him.
Heart 1 Comment 0
So many boats.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is a perfect way to end my day. I treated myself to dinner at one of these cafes.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 21 miles (34 km)
Total: 311 miles (501 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0