Camping Park Umag to Vrsar - Kim and Glory - Europe - CycleBlaze

May 21, 2023

Camping Park Umag to Vrsar

Maistra camping Valkanela

I got an early smart start this morning. And by early I mean 8:30 AM I was on the road. 

Good morning!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I knew I had a decent size climb coming up and today it’s supposed to be in the 80's and the humidity is high. I had a nice downhill run to the inlet and then the climb started. I had seen the road on my way down, and I thought there’s no way that can be the climb. It was. It was only a mile long but I stopped a few times just to catch my breath, and because the road was so narrow with no shoulder. Sometimes it was easier just to let traffic go by me surprisingly, I did pretty good on the climb. It was definitely hot, but there were some patches of shade, which is where I would aim for my little breaks. I got to the top and found a little grocery store and Café took the opportunity to get a cold electrolyte drink, and a yogurt before heading out again. 

I was headed to the town of Porec which was a little out of my way, but I wanted to see the town. I basically walked my bike through town looking for a place to eat and finally found somewhere and took a bit of a break.   The town was super cute, but I’m not sure what the point of going through town is if I’m not really going stop and see anything.  I also studied my map a little bit more and changed my routing to stick to the coast. It’s the first time I actually use the app "Ride with GPS" to navigate.  It was kind of funny because if I missed the turn, I would get this wonky sound and then I would turn back and get on the right route and then give me this little happy beeping sound. I was so glad I rerouted because I was right along the Adriatic. It was beautiful, blue green colors and lots of opportunities for swimming. Sometimes I wish I wasn’t alone, because swimming sure did look tempting. 

Approaching Porec
Heart 1 Comment 0
Cute town, but no shopping for me
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bye Porec
Heart 1 Comment 0

I had picked out a campsite because it’s my nicest day so far and I wanted to make sure I enjoyed the afternoon. Besides, there’s another big climb coming and if I would’ve kept going, I knew my legs and me would’ve been very unhappy. Still working on getting strength for the hill climbing. It’s not there yet. It’s OK, I’ll just keep doing 25 mile jaunts down the coast and enjoy myself. I got my campsite and I actually learned my lesson from last time and this time I went straight to the swimming pool before setting up camp.  Good thing the pool was like an ice bath per another German lady.

Heart 2 Comment 0

  

After that, I went and set up my tent and then walked along the shoreline. I waded a couple times, but I couldn’t quite get myself to go in for a swim because I didn’t want my clothes to be all salty.  I went back for another swim in the pool before eventually headed off to the showers and then a pizza dinner. There are supermarkets at the campgrounds here but of course, today it was closed as it’s Sunday.  As I was eating dinner, the waiter asked where it was from and guessed a bunch of European countries.   When I said I was from the United States. He said oh there’s people here filming "Survivor". It’s an American TV show. Yes, I’ve heard of that show.  Ha ha, it’s always been one of my favorites. I’ll keep my eyes peeled for Jeff Probst.  He told me the crew eats breakfast there every morning.  

I'm pretty happy with this scenery as I eat today's ice cream allotment.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Doesn't that chair look like fun?!
Heart 1 Comment 0

After another long walk in yet another huge campground. I pulled out my camp chair and just relaxed and watched the sunset over pretty calm water.  There were shades of pinks, and far out to see the water was aqua blue. It was so pretty it reminded me of the Miami Vice logo. 😂

Heart 2 Comment 0
Playing with my camera settings, but the sunset was great even without filters
Heart 1 Comment 0
Miami Vice sunset
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 24 miles (39 km)
Total: 290 miles (467 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0