Rovinj to Rovinj - Kim and Glory - Europe - CycleBlaze

May 23, 2023

Rovinj to Rovinj

Dawdling along

Today I really took time to enjoy the journey.  I went from the north side of Rovinj to the south side of Roving and had fun doing so.  I wasn't really ready for the climbing towards Pula and I felt like there was so much more to explore around Rovinj.  I was not wrong.

I took my sweet time about leaving the campsite.  I was researching and honestly, a bit torn about whether to head to Pula or just move to the fancier campsite.  First, I headed back to the busy seaport/promenade side of Rovinj and promptly got a gelato next to the place I had eaten dinner last nighty (conveniently having access to their wifi again.   I don't think 10:30am is too early for gelato.  Do you? :)  Just enjoying some people watching and the water activity, I quickly decided I was just going to switch campsites.

I came out of the store and I had a visitor.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I hung out awhile before leaving along the waterfront cycle paths and getting a view of Roving from the other side of town.  Paralleling the beautiful colored water with people swimming here and there.  Was a bit jealous, but couldn't really leave my bike.  I also would have just swam in my bike shorts, but a wet butt probably doesn't really work with my Brooks saddle.  

Bye Rovinj! You might be my favorite place so far this trip.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

I decided to venture into Park suma Zlani Rt.  There were gravel roads/trails through a forest and it was really nice.  Although I did have to push my bike up one hill with some bigger rocks.  Of course I was thinking, "So much for my rest day."  Ha ha, it wasn't that bad at all.

This was the cross training portion of the trail
Heart 0 Comment 0
The view wasn't bad
Heart 0 Comment 0

The views of the sea were beautiful.  I stopped and watched some rock climbers for a bit before continuing on.  I went a bit further and came across a beach with all these rock cairns.  Very cool!  I walked down among them and hoped I didn't stumble and cause a domino effect and knock them all down.  (I didn't.)

Interesting display.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Glory makes a perfect cairn topper!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was looking for just the right spot to have a picnic lunch.  Eventually, I found it.  I even went as far as to pull out my camp chair and just sit and relax and enjoy the peaceful, calm setting.  It was fun not being in a hurry.  Did I mention, I only cycled 9 miles today?  :)

Lunch is served
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another nice spot.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Beautiful! (In case you've forgotten how much I love the poppies.)
Heart 1 Comment 0

I got to the mega campsite and set up my tent once again in a bit of an area way out, but there were less people and more trees for shade.  The camp site wasn't level at all.  It didn't matter to me though because I was just happy to have found a quieter spot.  In other parts of the campsite, people are jammed in there on top of one another and I've heard there can be late night parties/noise in general.  So far, I have avoided that.

And yes, I went for a swim in the swimming pool and actually went for a quick swim in the Adriatic sea.

Today's ride: 9 miles (14 km)
Total: 320 miles (515 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Bob KoreisIf Sicilians can have a granita for breakfast, you can have gelato as second breakfast.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Kim JohnsonTo Bob KoreisHa ha, I like your way of thinking!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago