Venice to Jesolo - Kim and Glory - Europe - CycleBlaze

May 11, 2023

Venice to Jesolo

And I'm off!!!!

Day one. Here I go!
Heart 2 Comment 0

Rainy and on the busy highway.  Not the greatest of starts.  I saw a sign ahead that indicated, "No bicycles."  No problem, I'll just take this road paralleling the highway....until it suddenly ended.  I spent more time in the rain than I care to think about trying to figure out what to do.  After studying the map, it finally dawned on me.  The sign was for the "A" highway 600 meters ahead!  For us American foreigners, it reminded me of a highway onramp sign so I thought I couldn't go further.

The rain stopped for a moment and I'm off the highway. Took this in case it was my only chance for a photo today.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Poppies!
Heart 1 Comment 0
What vehicle is that exactly that they are warning me about?
Heart 1 Comment 0
And then this. What the hell? Look complicated.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Lunch break in a little park eating two slices of my non pepperoni pizza and a little bit of a milk mustache going on too!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Flowers
Heart 0 Comment 3
Bill ShaneyfeltKind of out of focus, but maybe meadow sage.

https://www.inaturalist.org/taxa/85338-Salvia-pratensis
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Kim JohnsonTo Bill Shaneyfeltout of focus or from my phone steaming up because of this lovely weather. I liked the flower picture anyways.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltYeah, autofocus is one of my difficulties too! Usually it focuses on something behind (notice the grass).

Good job though! They are pretty flowers. The color is magnificent.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
The bike route is following canal, but dirt. After rain. Uuuugh.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I think these are velociraptor tracks through the field and that area in front is where they nap ... or eat unsuspecting bicyclists!
Heart 0 Comment 0

The path had some excellent scenery along the bay or whatever it was and I was really enjoying it.

What in the Sam hell? Flamingos!❤️
Heart 1 Comment 0
Who knew Italy had flamingos!! What a wonderful surprise, but unfortunately, I couldn't dawdle long because you know, weather....
Heart 3 Comment 0

I was worried if the excessive rain would problems/flooding.  The answer is a clear "yes."  Too far to backtrack so I'm going to have to get through this

...through this and into the jaws of a hungry fox on the other side 😧
Heart 2 Comment 0
She was nimbly picking her way across, but eventually saw me and went running back the way she came. Sorry fox!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I briefly debated whether it would be safer to walk or ride through this and opted to ride.  Gaining confidence from way back when when I did some mountain biking.  I was also hoping to keep my feet a bit drier.  There was a bit of a current and near the end if got at least 5 inches deep and my feet went completely under.  But hey, I was just happy I stayed upright!

As I was crossing the water, I thought I saw a baby fox, but then just figured it was the mom.  I was busy concentrating.  Further ahead, I saw an animal on the trail and was thinking, "Is it a kitten?'    Nope, it was another baby fox and we kind of startled each other and he let out a little noise.  He looked very ragged/wet and I was surprised he wasn't with the other baby.  They were quite a way apart.  I wanted to "rescue" him, but obviously know better.  Can you find him in this picture?  He had very pretty blue eyes.  It made me sad for a while because I was worried they'd all been separated in the storms.

Hello baby fox! Can you find him?
Heart 1 Comment 0
Great. Another water obstacle
Heart 0 Comment 0
I'm in Italy. Vineyards and poppies.
Heart 2 Comment 2
Hermann KuschkeWhat is the plastic bottles for, I wonder. Does the vine actually go through the bottle?
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Kim JohnsonTo Hermann KuschkeI actually did not look that closely. I just noticed them and thought it was weird.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Rest break view
Heart 0 Comment 0
on these stairs
Heart 1 Comment 0
My trail leaves something to be desired.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Home sweet home
Heart 2 Comment 0
Don't mind me, just blow drying my sock 😂
Heart 1 Comment 0

After I showered I went out to see a little bit of the town.  And yes, I walked back to McDonald's for dinner.  Seriously, I had to pay for ketchup?!

Told you I'd have the beach to myself!
Heart 0 Comment 2
Hermann KuschkeGood grief. So on a fine day, are all those seats occupied? No running around and playing with a frisbee or beach cricket?!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Kim JohnsonI know, right?! We don’t have beach setting like this in the US either. There is some beach area between the first row of chairs and the water where games could be played.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Hello Adriatic sea
Heart 0 Comment 1
Hermann KuschkeNow this is more like it...
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Still no one here
Heart 0 Comment 2
Bob KoreisThose shades need some googly eyes.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Kim JohnsonTo Bob Koreisha ha, right? Maybe patent it and get busy on that.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
It's officially empty, but I love all the colorful beach umbrellas.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Sand sculpture in town - a very touristy town I'm sure extra crazy when it's hot
Heart 2 Comment 0
No one is riding today
Heart 0 Comment 0
I took this for one of my friends, but it's a cute picture and thinking about the significance of it and my friend brings me a bit of "joy."
Heart 2 Comment 0
Straggler - saw lots of swans today and here are three in perfect formation for this shot
Heart 2 Comment 0

Quite an exciting first day back on the bike -- my happy place.

Today's ride: 27 miles (43 km)
Total: 108 miles (174 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0