Rovinj to Pula - Kim and Glory - Europe - CycleBlaze

May 24, 2023

Rovinj to Pula

I finally made it to Pula.  😀 Got a hostel dorm bed for the next two nights.  It was cheaper than what my camping has been costing me!  

6 miles of gentle climbing first thing this morning.  I panicked a little initially because it was already hot and humid out at 9:00am.  But later, I had a lovely descent back to the sea on a road with little traffic . Finally!  Lots of colorful flowers, the wind blowing gently as I sped down the hill with curves.  So fun!  It almost offset the morning suffering.

I wondered what kind of trees these are? There were a lot of them!
Heart 0 Comment 5
Bill ShaneyfeltMight be olives... closeup of leaves would make ID easier.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Kim JohnsonTo Bill ShaneyfeltThat's the only shot I have. I was busy climbing up hills. No time for a close up :)
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltTo Kim JohnsonIf it is olives, you will likely see more.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Bob KoreisTo Bill ShaneyfeltMy thought as well. look like younger olive trees.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Kim JohnsonTo Bob KoreisThanks guys and yes, I have seen many more!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltBindweed
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Convolvulus_cneorum
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 3
Bill ShaneyfeltMallow
https://www.wildlifetrusts.org/wildlife-explorer/wildflowers/common-mallow
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Kim JohnsonTo Bill Shaneyfeltthanks, fyi -the links you are posting aren't active links. Aren't they usually?
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltTo Kim JohnsonNot sure why they do not post as links, but you can copy & paste into your browser and they work.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0

Stopped at a cafe and had a Coke zero enjoying yet another sea view, before continuing on.  I met a couple of cyclists and they clued me into that I could stay along the shoreline for quite awhile.  It was nice and I was happy I didn't have to climb up over a hill.  I'm always happy about that!

What’s not to love?
Heart 1 Comment 0

I saw a bike loaded down at the beach and thought about going over to say hi, but then realized he was sunbathing — without any clothes.  I decided it’s best I leave that one alone 😂

There are some Roman ruins here.  Got glimpses of both a coliseum and forum, but figured I’d sightsee later.  Just wanted to get to the hostel and relax.  And my arms were super itchy today.  I thought I wasn’t suppose to be in the sun with the cream the pharmacist gave me, but really, I don’t think I’m supposed to have the rash in the sun.  Super itchy today!  Will be doing some follow up while I am here.  I could see myself adding a third day here 😂

Home sweet home! Antique Hostel
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 24 miles (39 km)
Total: 344 miles (554 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0