Polace to Dubrovnik (via ferry) - Kim and Glory - Europe - CycleBlaze

June 8, 2023

Polace to Dubrovnik (via ferry)

Good morning. Prince, the cat, was abandoned by people on a yacht. Luckily, these guys took him in and he has a good life now.
Heart 0 Comment 0

An uneventful day.  Mostly just sat and enjoyed the view across the bay.  I did take a couple of walks just to move a little and see some more views.  There's an old well from way back when and all the locals get their drinking water from it.  Izo told me where it was yesterday, but when I got there, I didn't know how to turn it "on."  I finally found a local to ask, and basically, you just lay the hose down on the road and gravity does the rest..  There is no "turning it on or off." 😂Nice, refreshing water at my fingertips.

Heart 0 Comment 0
omg, a boat is hidden in the yacht!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Morning walk
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Yachts hidden in little coves. That explains the little boats arriving with a bunch of passengers.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Izo's wife arrived for the weekend and although I surprised here when she walked into the soon to be restaurant, once over the initial shock of "who is this person", she was very pleasant.  They invited me to lunch with freshly cooked fish the guys had caught the night before.  Delicious!

Thanks so much for your hospitality and making me feel so welcome!
Heart 0 Comment 0
"Joseph" was the name of my first cat. It's also the old name of their restaurant. I see them looking out at the boat. I was waving goodbye to them until I realized the windows are tinted and they can't see me.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I kind of wished I had biked the island as it looked beautiful.  Yesterday as I was riding around the lake, it was nice to just have that connection with nature again without all the touristy elements.  Had I ridden the island, there is a car ferry at Sobra that connects to the mainland.  The problem was, the route was hilly into Dubrovnik and I didn't want to deal with that and busy traffic.

Caught the catamaran, but had to keep a low profile as bikes aren't allowed on this line.  Tipped the crew and I was very amused as they raised my bike with ropes up to the crew/captain level to avoid the cameras.  Whatever works.  Another nice ride, but it does kind of suck that you are inside the catamaran the whole time just looking out the window.  There was some nice scenery, but I'm used to ferries in Washington State where you can stand out on the deck and feel the wind blowing and sunshine on your face.

Scenery was good as we got closer to Dubrovnik
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Oh no, two giant cruise ships are in town
Heart 0 Comment 0
Yep, that's my bike being lowered. Don't tell anyone. It was an illegal stowaway
Heart 0 Comment 0

I booked at the EuroAdria hostel conveniently close to the port.  Made it there in no time and called it a day except to run to the supermarket conveniently located in the little shopping center across from the hostel.  Even though I requested a lower bunk, I was assigned a top bunk.  Thank goodness there was a little step stool to help me in and out or climbing up and down that ladder would not have been fun!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0