Dubrovnik - exploration days (I didn't really rest) - Kim and Glory - Europe - CycleBlaze

June 9, 2023 to June 10, 2023

Dubrovnik - exploration days (I didn't really rest)

I arrived pretty late last night, I just got settled in.  So, first thing this morning, time to head in to Dubrovnik.  I opted to walk and it was about 30 minutes.  There was a long hill involved and I may have missed a turn early on.  As I entered into the city (it's a walled city from the 16th century).  I saw that the tourist information place had a really long line.  Wasn't willing to wait in that so I just started walking around.  You can spend a couple hours walking around the city on top of the wall, but the price was pretty steep.  I actually ran into the two cyclists I had seen in Mljet and they had done the walk and really enjoyed it and recommended it.  In the end, I never did do it (or the tram hike to the top of the mountain that is suppose to have spectacular views.)  I knew hiking muscles are different than biking muscles and didn't want to end up really sore.  Plus, it's hot.  I felt like I walked around enough to enjoy the town and also knew I'd be treated to great views on my bike when I leave.

Looks tough
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Will be headed that way in a day or two
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I'm one of those people who has never seen a full episode of "Game of Thrones." However, a lot of it has been filmed here and there are walking tours just for it. This is the best I can do. Stairs from scene of "walk of shame"
Heart 0 Comment 0
"Walk of Shame" stairs (I overheard the guy)
Heart 0 Comment 0
A popular draw
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
What a great place to play basketball!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
This was so pretty. I waited a long time trying to get a shot without people in it, but was not successful.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Free refill with cold water! Fun!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is actually close to my hostel which is in the port area. I thought it looked cool.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Got my hair done with "highlights." A little blonder than I was expecting. I'll let you know if blondes have more fun. 😂
Heart 0 Comment 0

DAY 2

I did decide to do a three hour kayak tour.  I debated and debated whether to go out on my own or go with a guided trip.  I opted for a guided trip as we were supposed to paddle around Lokrum island and I just felt it'd be safer with a group.  Although fun, what a disappointment it ended up being.  We didn't end up going around the island because our guide felt like a couple of the girls weren't fit enough.  He made this decision after leaving the cave, but also just kept paddling way ahead of us and not really paying attention to the group at all.  Maybe he would have noticed they were stopping to take pictures.  We ended up doing a small bit of the island and sitting in our kayaks two separate times listening to him ramble on with stories.  Clearly, he was trying to fill the time.  I was pissed.  At any rate, I did see there are multiple companies to go with and should have paid more attention to that.  I spoke to the guy who sold me the trip on my way out and let him know I was disappointed.  He got very defensive immediately which told me all I needed to know.  It's about making the bucks.  It was nice to see the walls of the city from the sea and I got some swimming in at the cave we stopped at with a gazillion other kayakers.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The "cave" got packed with people and kayaks. Had a nice swim/snorkel, but the mask sucked and it was hard to see. Did see some fish that they fed bread too scaring people as they all of sudden splash right by you. That was the funniest part of the whole trip.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
It was super cool to see the city from the water
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Went back to the hostel to get changed and showered thinking I'd head back in for the evening but decided not to.  Heading out in the morning so just concentrated on getting packed up.  I should mention, Carlos from the hostel made the stay so much more enjoyable.  He was super helpful and friendly to everyone.  The beds were comfy.  The showers were less wonderful, but overall, glad I stayed a way out of the city.  Super convenient to catch a bus in which is what I did the second day.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0