Piran to Camping Park Umag (not in Umag) - Kim and Glory - Europe - CycleBlaze

May 19, 2023

Piran to Camping Park Umag (not in Umag)


People.  It’s been a day.  Started off great visiting with my new friend and she made me an omelet before I left.  

Waiting for dinner last night
Heart 1 Comment 0
She wanted a pic of me and all my gear. Obviously, this is before they “exploded.” 😂
Heart 1 Comment 0
Look! Up there! I was on the second floor. If you go back to yesterday’s post/picture , see if you can spot the pink house near the end. That’s us!
Heart 1 Comment 0
I’m taking over her rental and she’s taking over my bike ride. Seems like a good plan!
Heart 1 Comment 0

Coincidentally, ran into a cyclist I had asked directions from in Koper.  He recognized me and came back to say hi.  He led me to the trail and said it’s an old railroad grade, the climbs will be gentle and that route is much more scenic.  

What a coincidence. This guy was nice enough that he had me follow him to the campground where then the trail was east to follow!! Thanks!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Secovlje Saltpans Natural Park. Water’s a little low here.
Heart 0 Comment 2
Mike AylingThought you were back in Africa for a moment!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Kim JohnsonTo Mike AylingAlthough I definitely would want to go back one day, not just yet!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago


The path was really pleasant for awhile and then things changed.  I had one decent climb once the route.   I thought the route is paved.  It’s not, but I was doing good.

I’m not amused. Luckily, just the corner was steeper.
Heart 0 Comment 0
These salt pans have water. I came from the land/coastline you can see in the distance
Heart 0 Comment 0
A scenic area before the rocks got bigger and less predictable in size/shape
Heart 0 Comment 0


  After the top, it got more and more rocky and I was was not having fun.  Oh ya, now I remember.  The guy at the laundromat had advised me to take the road because of the rock situation.  Oops!  Should have made notes!  

I studied my map and made the executive decision to return to the coastal route.  All downhill.  Then I hit some hills and pretty soon my legs were shot.  Saw an amazing swimming pool at a campground and decided to quit even earlier. 😂  

Yes please. Except it’s not heated 🥶
Heart 1 Comment 0

The campground is ridiculously huge.  It took me forever to walk around and ouck out a site.  I wanted a quieter area if possible.  Went to see about charging my phone and guess  who left all my cords plus gps tracker at the lady’s house where I stayed last night?’  Rookie mistake.  Rest of the afternoon/evening trying to figure out what to do.  Long story sort, I’m paying someone 50 E tomorrow to take me the maybe 25 miles each way to go get it.  

Now, I’m beat.  Off to bed.  Just had a bug under my shirt.  Didn’t look like a tick, but I think it was as it was in one spot and I was like, what’s that? Fml.  And ya, the rash is spreading a little and itches like hell.  I might be visiting a doctor in Croatia.

First campsite if the trip
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 24 miles (39 km)
Total: 266 miles (428 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0