Camping Park Umag - rest day - Kim and Glory - Europe - CycleBlaze

May 20, 2023

Camping Park Umag - rest day

I had arranged a ride last night back to Porin.  And by ride, I mean paying someone $50E to take me.  My driver was very nice and was the head chef at one of the restaurants at the campground.  He said he knew how to get to Portaroz, but then proceeded to miss a turn.  I had to explain to him "what taking the scenic route" meant as we wound through narrow roads in the countryside and through villages.  Glad I wasn't on my bike at least!

Speaking of which, I got my offline maps downloaded and paid for a basic subscription to "RidewithGPS" (gives elevation profile) so should be better prepared with routes/directions/hills going forward.

We got back later than I thought we would, so I opted to just enjoy the campground today.  And although I have been sorer, my legs appreciated the break.  They aren't super strong yet but give me another week and that should have changed some.  Then again, I've never enjoyed or been great at hills.

I kind of like the mega campground.  Would you believe it's one of the largest in the area and can accommodate 10,000 people?!

Night
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0