Trieste to Muggia (ferry) to Piran - Kim and Glory - Europe - CycleBlaze

May 19, 2023

Trieste to Muggia (ferry) to Piran

What should have been an easy day, wasn’t.  On the bright side, “Hi from Slovenia!”

My ferry ride was fantastic….

Ready and waiting for the ferry
Heart 1 Comment 0
My ferry’s just a bit smaller than the cruise ship pulling into town
Heart 0 Comment 0
It’s HUGE! I’m outta here just in time!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Lot of boats around the parts.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Trieste is a major port city
Heart 0 Comment 0
The little tugboat that could.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Now THAT’S a cargo ship!!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Almost to Muggia. I really enjoyed my ferry ride.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I used to have a car that color. :)
Heart 0 Comment 0

Then, things got rough.  I basically walked to Slovenia after taking the ferry to Muggia 😂.  I switched to Komoot maps in “bike touring mode.”  After a short distance, I then proceeded to do a hike ‘n’ bike” as I was met with a brutally steep hill!  Well over 12% 😢 for almost two miles.  My arm started to get sore from pushing.  funny, I didn’t see one other cyclist on this route despite numerous cyclists on the boat.  

I basically have walked from the water
Heart 1 Comment 0
It’s official!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Had a very steep descent as well and spent some more time confused about which way to go.    Had phone/map issues, but that’s now sorted out as I eat lunch in McDonalds.  I made a beeline for it as I knew there’d be wifi.  (I finally got on bike paths, so I think I’m okay now.  If all goes as planned, by this afternoon, I’ll arrive in Croatia.). That’d be three countries in one day!  It didn’t go as planned, it went better.

At McD’s I overheard an American ask for ketchup.  Been there, done that.  You actually have to pay for ketchup here!!  So, I gave her the bad news.  We chatted a bit and when I went to move to the table behind her so I could keep a better eye on my bike, she invited me to sit with her.  She ended up inviting me to stay at her place she’s renting.  She said she only had a futon, but people, I’ve got my trusty cot with me anyways.  

After McD’s I finally got on the Parenzana trail and it was nice.  But first I went right along the water.  So nice!  Back in my happy place.

This is more like it!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Nice cool temperature inside the tunnel
Heart 2 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltAnd lit for you also! :)
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

After speeding down a hill to Portoroz, I came upon the touristy marina etc.  I felt obligated to join in with everyone else relaxing so got myself a gelato.

A rose garden
Heart 1 Comment 0
Contrary to what it looks like, the gelato cone is not as big as my head. Lemon pie gelato was delicious!
Heart 3 Comment 2
Mike AylingWell so you say!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Kim JohnsonTo Mike AylingHa ha, I wish!!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
I’m headed to the end of that point
Heart 1 Comment 0


There was a little “incident” after taking this photo.  I took a step back, on uneven pavement, and proceeded to lose my balance and fall completely backwards.  Lucky for me, I still had my gloves and helmet on especially since my head slammed into the pavement.  And yes, tons of people saw me! 😂

I got to Diana’s place and wow! Nice!  I mean when you can see the water out all the windows it doesn’t get much better!  Even a view of the cute town and water from the bathroom — while seated. 😂

She was on the second floor and I lugged all my bags up, but knew I’d have trouble with my bike.  For once, I asked for the help I needed in the form of two guys who were also arriving.  Super grateful for that as there were some sharp and narrow turns.

We visited awhile before I showered and then decided to head out for dinner.  She has been living in Mexico for the last six years.  How that decision  was made and the lifestyle always peaks my interest.  

But first, off to the laundromat to dry some clothes
Heart 0 Comment 1
Bob KoreisThere wasn't a clothes line outside your window?
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Cute passageways
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Who’s thirsty? 😂 This was actually in a little supermarket, not even a liquor store!
Heart 1 Comment 0

Dinner came.  I had basically fettuccini with salmon and it was delicious!!  What a nice treat to stay in Piran, speak English and make a new friend.  Perfect ending to my day.

Thank you Diana!
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 20 miles (32 km)
Total: 242 miles (389 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0