LORD Hotel to Durres - Kim and Glory - Europe - CycleBlaze

June 26, 2023

LORD Hotel to Durres

Geez louise!! I am having issues with trying to follow the route my friend gave me.  But first, I had to give way to some cows crossing the road. 

Heart 1 Comment 0

 

I actually had to brake to avoid a cyclist cow collision. I probably wouldn't have fared well.
Heart 0 Comment 0
These mini mountains were pretty and I was enjoying the scenery, but I was having a hard time getting a clearing to get a decent shot
Heart 0 Comment 0
A dirt road provided a bit of a clearing
Heart 0 Comment 0
I think this might have been a water bottling company based on the mini waterfall falling off the building and I saw some trucks in the parking lot
Heart 1 Comment 0
In addition to cows...
Heart 1 Comment 0

I could see this steep hill ahead.  There's no way this is the route.   I triple checked it a and yes, this is the route.  I had to take multiple breaks pushing.  And then there were a couple more killer ones, though short.  Somebody even stopped and said, “it’s difficult, yes?  Do you need help?”  No, I’m good, thanks 😂🥵  (I do this for fun.)

The last segment (of the first) hill from hell
Heart 1 Comment 0

I got to the little town and stopped at a cafe for some much needed ice cream and water.  Oh, and yes, I was off route.  Wtf?!  I don't know how I confused myself other than in the bright sun, it is hard to see my phone screen.  At least I am almost to my destination. 

Durres off in the distance
Heart 0 Comment 0
Ice cream makes everything better
Heart 1 Comment 0

My place is a bit off the beach so I figured I'd better go check out the beach and promenade area with my bike in case I want to stay another day.  Except, what should have been the way to the beach wasn't because of the way traffic was routed.  I turned around and just went to my accommodation.  After I cooled down a bit...

Back to beach life.....

The host picked these berry type things off of a tree in her garden. They were okay.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltWhite mulberries are not near as good as red (black when ripe)

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Morus_alba
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Some cute daisies on my walk to the beach
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is just SO WRONG on so many levels 😂 Literally, off the side of the building. I'm offended and amused at the same time.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A busy beach!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sand!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Is that a UFO over there?
Heart 0 Comment 0
My other happy place
Heart 0 Comment 0
A swim on a sandy beach made me very happy!
Heart 1 Comment 0
A sheep exchange just took place. The sheep dug his hooves in and didn't want to go with the lady at first 😂 I'm staying at that white building. Had to scale back my budget after the last couple of nights.
Heart 0 Comment 0

 One last thing.  My therapy is done for today.  Kitten therapy!  ❤️ 😀😀😀

Hello
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Perfect portrait
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 16 miles (26 km)
Total: 680 miles (1,094 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0