Golem to Divjake - Kim and Glory - Europe - CycleBlaze

June 28, 2023

Golem to Divjake

I might need an intervention.  😂  I could see the sign a bit up ahead, but I needed to turn right.  I thought it was an on ramp so I would have to ride back against traffic to backtrack.  Okay, I’ll do it! 😂🚴  (Turns out it was two way traffic, just had to complete a lap around the roundabout.) 
Thanks Albania!

🎶 I got my first real six string
Bought it at the five and dime 🎶 
🎶 Played it til my fingers bled
Was the summer of ….

My heart is happy
Heart 1 Comment 0

  

Nice view back to "69" and the mountains, but I'm not going that way
Heart 0 Comment 0
Don't worry, despite there previously being barricades to this bridge, I'm sure it's completely solid! 😧
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

It was pleasant riding.  As I came into town, there were tons of bushes/flowers planted along the road.  You could tell it was intentional and I really enjoyed seeing all the colors.

Pretty in pink
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
More random flowers that someone obviously planted. I noticed a lot of houses in town had flowers all over.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I rode about 26 miles to my accommodation in Divjake, but after I cooled down and unloaded, I rode another 13 over to the national park.  

fyi
Heart 0 Comment 0
Doesn't say "no bikes." Off I go....
Heart 0 Comment 0
Scenic, but some of the boards were a bit creaky and sections had been replaced. I paid close attention as if I fell off, it was going to be into swampy water below. No thank you.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Normally, I would be all over climbing this for a 360 degree view, but I didn't want to pay the 100 Lek ($1) and more importantly, I didn't want to climb the stairs.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Wandered a bit further along the road
Heart 0 Comment 0
Out to the coast
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I believe this is part of one of the lagoons
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sad. Stray dogs waiting for scraps.
Heart 0 Comment 0

And I end my day with bad news.   My foot (the one that had surgery) is all jacked up.  I have noticed the last few days it’s been especially stiff and painful when I first get up after a prolonged rest.  I actually wondered if the steroid injection finally wore off.  After my bike trip to the park, I came back, showered, went to walk to the store and it started acting up and was painful to walk on.  It never got better the rest of the evening.  It’s the ball of my foot toe area.  I've had problems with the ball of my foot before, but this is different.  I did a bunch of stretches and noticed my calf muscle was really tight.

As the night wore on, I noticed that foot has NO strength to do a calf raise.  No problem on the other foot.  I had this happen with my thumb a couple of times and it was tendinitis.  I sure hope rest tonight calms it down, but clearly, something is going on. 😞 

Update:  I put a call into my foot dr.  It’s a shot in the dark, but something is seriously wrong.  Of course, I'm in a remote little town tonight.  Sigh.

In brighter news, the guy who came to look at my stove gave me a flower 😀

Don't let that cute face fool you! He was very yappy at me, especially when I wheeled my bike back.
Heart 1 Comment 0
When you travel solo, little things amuse you. Like my face in the bottom of the pot of water I was trying to boil. 😂
Heart 0 Comment 0
Home sweet home
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 39 miles (63 km)
Total: 726 miles (1,168 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0