Divjake to Fier - Kim and Glory - Europe - CycleBlaze

June 29, 2023

Divjake to Fier

I have been carrying a pack of steroids to take over the course of the week in case my foot gave me problems.  I took my first dose last night.  

I am happy to say that RideWithGPS’s route was awesome. Quiet roads in farmland all day. I was worried I could end up in dirt road hell again 😂

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Omg. NOT AGAIN! Flashbacks of my Africa trip. Also, an obstacle course because I don't want to hear one crunch under my wheels!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Gag! All over the road eating the ones that had been killed. When I rode by, they would all jump away. One hit my leg and I felt all its legs try to land on me. I did scream a little.
Heart 0 Comment 0
One of those vile little creatures on the plant. These are super sized grasshoppers!
Heart 0 Comment 0
On to nicer pictures
Heart 0 Comment 0
Those trees across the river might have been rubber trees. They were planted in rows.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Trying something besides ice cream
Heart 0 Comment 0
They left me a little plate of traditional Albanian food. It was Okra and I was pleasantly surprised. Tasty!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

My foot’s mostly okay for biking.  Just not walking.  When I arrived at my place, I got a warm welcome from the hosts parents and the place is fantastic. Too bad I only booked one night and she is full for tomorrow.   I  had written the hosts this morning and asked them to freeze a bottle of water for me and they did.  Ice is not a thing in Albania btw unless I get lucky.  At least I can ice my foot this evening.

I definitely need at least one day off, probably two to give my foot a proper rest and give the steroids a chance to help. When I leave here, I have a couple of climbs and one will be the biggest of my trip so far. I already know it will require some pushing because sections of it are too steep. I don’t know how I can do that with my foot like it is.  The reality is, I probably can’t because I can’t put full weight on the ball of my foot at this point. 

I do have a contact and I can get a ride part way and just pay for petrol. At least that will get me further down the road. By direct route, I am about 90 miles away, but I was doing a couple of detours before that.
Trying to stay positive, but I am beyond sad and frustrated.


Today's ride: 24 miles (39 km)
Total: 750 miles (1,207 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0