Fier - rest days - Kim and Glory - Europe - CycleBlaze

June 30, 2023 to July 1, 2023

Fier - rest days

I had to leave my cute apartment and switch to another. Not quite as cute, but an actual full size apartment. Approx. $25 😀  They have English channels on the tv and I feel like I should definitely take advantage of that.

I just learned about Apolonia Archaeological park about 6 miles away. Definitely worth exploring although that doesn’t really rest my foot, but I’ll head there tomorrow.

Foot is still painful this morning, but at one point after walking a ways, I could mostly put full weight on it so it is definitely improving. Makes me wonder if everything is just super inflamed and maybe something was getting pinched.…now I have hope again I can bike this last week.

It's tomorrow.  Ha ha.  I rode out to the park.  Some steep hills right at the end and I purposely walked part of one to see how my foot would do.  It was okay but didn't like it.  I enjoyed walking around the park and seeing the ruins.  After walking around the park for a couple of hours I determined that my foot is definitely better, but still a problem.  Heading out tomorrow and hoping for the best.  Thunderstorms in the forecast, but that means cooler weather!

Lots of photos ahead from both the grounds and museum, but I really enjoyed being more of a tourist for the day.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Church/museum right inside the entrance
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Amphitheater
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
In each of those enclaves, they placed a statue.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Here I am practicing my best statue pose.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The views from up in the park were incredible. Here is looking out towards the sea
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
More stunning views from the other side
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I decided against walking across this "bridge"
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Chase the sun anyone?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Inside church by entrance
Heart 0 Comment 0
Hello :)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I learned these are actually bunkers and are scattered throughout the country for the people in case of a nuclear attack. The dictator back then was a little obsessed with getting them built.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 14 miles (23 km)
Total: 764 miles (1,230 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0