Searsport to Camden - Northern Tier Modified - CycleBlaze

July 31, 2021

Searsport to Camden

After a great night’s rest in very comfortable beds and with no camp to break down, we were able to get an earlier start today. Like the first day, beautiful weather for cycling. I had on my three layers of clothing and felt very comfortable. 

Crosswinds
Heart 0 Comment 2
John ScanlanThree layers of clothes? In August?
What is the purpose of that orange thing that juts out of Rose's bike on the left side. Does that force cars to give her a wider berth when they pass?
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Rose Craig-KinnonTo John ScanlanHi John,
That would be my pink pool noodle! It allows drivers to understand what the safe passing distance of 3' is. Most cars give a wider berth when I cycle with the noodle. Allows me to be less offended by drivers when I ride. If they hit the noodle it will come forward as they were traveling too close to me. Most don't want to touch the mysterious noodle with their car, so they go around. HA! Win Win!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

More hills again today so legs are getting a good workout, even with pedal assist. We crossed the footbridge and rode through Belfast. They were having their Saturday farmers market but we have no more space right now. 

Nice route
Heart 0 Comment 1
John ScanlanI think Route 1A will eventually be part of the US bicycle route system across the country.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Footbridge
Heart 2 Comment 0
Belfast
Heart 0 Comment 0
More clear weather
Heart 1 Comment 1
John ScanlanI didn't notice so much the clear skies as I did the absence of a shoulder on that road. Be careful up there!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

We stopped for lunch along the water in Lincolnville at McLaughlin’s Lobster Shack. We met so many friendly people there. One family, Brian, Kathryn, their cute son Sidney, and their baby (didn’t get the name) were just vacating a picnic table and yielded it to us. Melissa and Mick were having lunch while waiting on the ferry to take them home across the bay in Islesboro. 

West Penobscot Bay
Heart 1 Comment 0

No sooner did we get back on the road that we happened upon Green Tea Coffee and Tea of Maine. Tea shops are my second favorite type of store, just after bicycle shops. Of course I had to stop. I looked over all the loose tea selections and settled on Chinese Sencha. Just an ounce because of space limitations. 

Tea shop #1 for this trip
Heart 1 Comment 1
John ScanlanYou're soooooo loaded down that you could only buy an ounce of tea? Knowing you, I would've thought that you had bought pound bags of tea.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Later in the day as we were arriving in Camden along US1, I was slowly advancing in the bike lane while cars were mostly backed up and hardly moving. After advancing about three blocks a guy who had probably been waiting a while decided turn right onto a small side street. He didn’t see me coming up. I couldn’t stop in time so also turned right but grazed the side of his car and fell over. He stopped and came over, asked if I needed medical care (I didn’t), picked up my bike, stayed a while, gave me his contact info and all that. I think I may need a new helmet and he offered to pay for it. I am not injured. 

A very nice couple, Caroline and her husband, came over to check on me, gave me water, and offered to take my bike and me to my destination which was less than a mile away. I gladly accepted. Later Rose and I went to the bike shop for a helmet but OMG they all look like big mushroom tops. 

Rose writes:

We rolled out of the Yardarm Motel at a reasonable hour, 9ish. The sun was shining and the temps were warming up making it a great day for cycling the coast of Maine!

On our way to the Belfast Rail Trail.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Rene HofbauerPraise God you were not hurt! Keep going so glad all worked out well!!! Yes
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
On the other side of Belfast Bay, Maine.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The detail and history.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Yes please! I could live here...in the summer.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltThat's a cool houseboat!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Beautiful boats!
Heart 0 Comment 0
I'm always fascinated by shipyards.
Heart 1 Comment 0
This ship is massive!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Kim stopped at a yard sale on a hill and I kept going only to be stopped at the top of the hill by Wayne a cyclist from Maine/Arizona wanting a pic of my pink pool noodle.  Soon afterwards I was on my way.

Kim and I decided to take the less busy route on 52. Less busy could translate to safer, but that was not the case. Zero easement, blind hills and curves made for a hairy couple of miles. We regrouped at a gas station and detoured to the East coast greenway, then onto US 1.  After many hills and coastline, we met in Lincolnville for lunch. 

Haddock sandwich for me and a lobster roll for Kim at McLaughlins Lobster Shack.
Heart 0 Comment 0
West Penobscot Bay in Maine.
Heart 1 Comment 0

After lunch we headed down the road only to find the lovely Green Tree Coffee and Tea shop. 

The Green Tree Coffee and Tea shop.
Heart 0 Comment 0
100% correct!
Heart 0 Comment 0
The infamous Indigo! The stores current inquisitive mascot!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Only 6 more miles to go to our Warmshowers host home in Camden. After more hills that gave me a run for my balance, I finally came to our turn on Mountain Road only to find Kim on the sidewalk with her helmet off. She and a truck met in the bike lane and she took a tumble. The man who drove the truck was very shaken. Information was exchanged and another kind soul by the name of Caroline gave Kim a ride to our destination.  Kim wanted to purchase a new helmet so we shuttled into Maine Sport and Ski Rockport.

Beautiful walk on a cool evening. When we reached the house I threw together dinner and we ate outside on the deck at our host’s home.  

A mix of zinnia and dahlias along our walk home.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bright and vibrant
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Perovskia atriplicifolia aka Russian Sage.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Scott AndersonRussian Sage! I’ve seen but never heard of this plant. I’ve always just assumed it was another variety of lavender.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Dinner on the deck!
Heart 0 Comment 0

After dinner, I retired to the room. It's been a long day and I am glad Kim is ok.

Back at it tomorrow for a destination of Duck Pond.

Today's ride: 28 miles (45 km)
Total: 52 miles (84 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Kathleen JonesPretty scary moment there, Kim. Glad you’re okay. Shaken but not stirred.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Scott AndersonSo glad Kim is apparently OK. Rachael had a similar incident last fall and was sideswiped by a turning UPS truck. Very scary. I always stay behind cars at intersections now unless I’m sure I’ve been seen.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Joseph PachecoOh my , I’m glad Kim is ok. Get some rest and hopefully tomorrow is a better day. Ride safe girls.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago