Day 5 - ending at Ottawa, KS - Diversion into Kansas - CycleBlaze

August 18, 2016

Day 5 - ending at Ottawa, KS

rode on Southwind Rail Trail, Prairie Spirit Trail

Posted via email Fri Aug 19 07:22:02 2016 PDT

Woke up at 4:33am, in time to see the bright moon set in the west. I was somewhat surprised to see that all my ice had melted. Oh well, I had enjoyed what I used last night. Finished report and packed up. The bathrooms were unlocked this morning, after I was packed. I see they have showers! It would have been nice if they had been available last night!

I was behind schedule, but not off-route. If I could make it to Ottawa this evening, that would put me back on schedule. Sixty miles by bicycle, per Google Maps - and all on trails.

I wanted to see Humboldt's bridge over the Neosho River, so headed that way when I left the park (at 8:15am). After a picture, on towards downtown for breakfast. Found the H & H Grill on a side street. The front area where I sat holds nine. The building used to be a filling station, back when the street in front was the main highway through town. Remembering not to eat too much at one time, I ordered one pancake, instead of two, and that was just right. Finished at 9:24am.

Followed my routing (for the most part) to the start of the Southwind Rail Trail. This 6.5-mile trail connects with the Prairie Spirit Trail in Iola. After a picture, I was on my way north at 9:45am. An overcast morning, with the gentle wind still from the south. Rode over a heavy-duty bridge before arriving in Iola at 10:45am. Switched seamlessly to the Prairie Spirit Trail in town. I'd forgotten about the pay station in Iola, but was reminded by a sign north of town, where there was no place to pay.

Arrived in Carlyle at 11:37am, and bought my permit for $3.50 at the self-pay station there. Stopped at noon to record mileage at that point: 16.1 miles. Shortly after, I came to a trail official on an ATV, who checked my permit, and thanked me for making the Prairie Spirit Trail part of my route.

Arrived in Colony at 12:40pm. Went into town far enough to find a pop machine. It didn't work, so went farther to another, where I was able to buy a cream soda. It was very good. Then I saw a place to get a Gatorade, so got one, along with three packs of peanuts for later.

North of Colony, I stopped to talk with a worker who is checking out the path for a fiber optic conduit planned for along the adjacent highway. It'll be five-foot down, and heavy-duty Schedule 90 pipe, he said.

I took a Gatorade/peanuts break at 1:55pm. Passed Welda at 2:35pm, and arrived in Garnett at 3:45pm. There were Amish or Mennonite folks setting up for a food/produce sale. I saw a small loaf of pumpkin bread that looked good, but they didn't start selling until 4:30pm.

I passed the north end of Garnett at 4:12pm. Another break at 5:17pm. Arrived in Richmond at 5:50pm, and Princeton at 6:49pm. Had to keep moving to make it to Ottawa before dark, which I did - at 7:45pm. One more short section, and I was done with the Prairie Spirit Trail, at 7:58pm.

I had originally planned to camp at the Franklin County Visitor Center, but they don't have showers. So instead, I stopped at the Days Inn at the south side of town. A shower was the first thing I did after getting the bike in the room. Now, if I could just get the dirty clothes clean. I went to ask at the front desk if they have machines, and passed a coin-operated set on my way. The desk clerk gave me quarters for four dollars, and I got to it - at 10:30pm. Worked on picture selection while I waited. My laundry was done at 11:30pm. This worked out so well. Now everything is clean!

Jeff

Spent: $9.47 plus $2 (breakfast) + $3.50 (trail permit) + $0.75 (cream soda) + $3.88 (Gatorade, peanuts) + $61.21 plus $5 (motel) + $4 (laundry machines) = $89.81.

Day 5 - Humboldt, KS to Ottawa, KS
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

+ up before the moon set +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ inside H & H Grill, a former Texaco filling station - Humboldt, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ inside H & H Grill showing part of the original outside of the filling station building - Humboldt, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Here's a link showing when this building (above) was a Texaco Station: https://www.kshs.org/km/items/view/227617

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ inside Santa Fe Depot - Garnett, KS +
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Anderson County Courthouse - Garnett, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ rest area along Prairie Spirit Trail - Anderson County, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ nature information at rest area +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Beachner Grain - Richmond, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Prairie Spirit Trail - Franklin County, KS +
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 59 miles (95 km)
Total: 234 miles (377 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0