Day 4 - ending at Humboldt, KS - Diversion into Kansas - CycleBlaze

August 17, 2016

Day 4 - ending at Humboldt, KS

Posted via email Thu Aug 18 04:04:01 2016 PDT

I slept so soundly last night, I don't remember anything. Did wake up at 6:33am, and started right in at selecting pictures for the report. A break at 8:30am for breakfast, then back to writing. I set a noon departure goal, and missed it by an hour.

Noon mileage report: 0 miles!

My destination today was Iola RV Park and Storage in Iola, but I was beginning to doubt I could make it with this late departure.

Anyway, I did leave at 1:00pm, south out of Lake Parsons camping area, then west to a road straight north (Jackson Road). Passed by Galesburg at 1:58pm. At 2:33pm, I was at KS-47. Two miles west on this shoulderless highway brought me to another long stretch north - on Harper Road. I stopped for a break at the turn here, in the shade of a row of trees. Called my friend Jim while I ate a pack of granola bars he and his wife had given me. Standing there, I noticed a nice breeze from the south. That works for me!

Took off north at 3:13pm. Made it to the bridge over the Neosho River at 4:07pm. I decided here to put my sunglasses on (they clip-on). Pavement appeared a mile or so south of KS-39, but so did some hills. Crossed over KS-39 at 4:56pm.

I had decided that if I didn't get to Humboldt by 5:00pm, I'd camp in Humboldt's city park (another alternate camping spot I had marked in my GPS). And I wasn't to Humboldt yet.

Stopped in some shade at 5:10pm to eat a bag of mixed nuts (and also catch my breath). Lots of tractors out today. All were considerate as they passed by. Many had a child riding along in the cab.

My turn west toward Humboldt on Delaware Road occurred at 6:08pm. I was surprised to see an expressway-type interchange for US-169 when I got to it. US-169 is just two lanes here, with opposing traffic. The railroad crossing further towards town needs some work. Passed by Monarch Cement on the south side of town, then happened upon a city bike trail nearer into town. I rode it until I needed to turn toward the city park.

Arrived at Camp Hunter at 6:53pm. This is a more reasonable time to stop for the day. But I wasn't quite all set yet. I needed to get a permit. The sign said to get the permit from the police office, but Humboldt's internet site said to get the permit from the water plant after hours.

I found no one at the water plant when I got there, and no one at the police station uptown, either. Back to the water plant. There was a phone number posted there I'll try calling. Just when I got there, a worker in a city pickup truck stopped by. He invited me into the water plant while he filled out the permit. He allowed me to take some pictures of the water plant's control room, which I found interesting. Then, before I left, he gave me a bag of ice! What a treat!

Made it back to the park at 8:10pm, and was able to get most of the ice (that I didn't eat) into one of my water jugs. I set up the tent near an AC outlet, and got the bike battery hooked up for charging - it needs it.

I'm in better shape tonight, and just about have this report finished - except for the morning proof-read. Oh, it's 12:24am. Good night.

Jeff

Spent: $10 (campsite).

Day 4 - Parsons, KS to Humboldt, KS
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ mainline heading north over Coal Creek - Allen County, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ Monarch Cement Company - Humboldt, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ blacksmith building at southeast corner of 4th Street and Bridge Street - Humboldt, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 36 miles (58 km)
Total: 175 miles (282 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0