Day 6 - ending near Lyndon, KS - Diversion into Kansas - CycleBlaze

August 19, 2016

Day 6 - ending near Lyndon, KS

rode on Flint Hills Nature Trail

Posted via email Sat Aug 20 06:20:02 2016 PDT

I had the smartphone alarm set for 4:20am, so I could get the report written. Made coffee with the room's four-cup maker, watched just a little of the Weather Channel, then started writing.

At 8:02am, I walked next door to the Old 56 Family Restaurant. Ordered Breakfast #6 (country-fried steak). There was a cute baby in a high chair at the next table who was more interested in me than what her folks were saying.

Back at the motel room I sent in the report, filled my Klean Kanteen with ice and water, then checked out at 9:40am. The clerk offered me a coffee-to-go, but I didn't think that would work.

Went back to where I left the Prairie Spirit Trail yesterday. Riding on this in-town portion doesn't require a permit. Near downtown, I rode over a block to see Ottawa's courthouse. A few blocks back west and north, and I was at the "Flint Hills Nature Trail Connector". That brought me to the start (for me) of the Flint Hills Nature Trail, at 10:15am.

Under an overpass first, then on to the trail's new bridge over the Marais Des Cygnes River. On my way there, I passed a couple out for a walk, and a little later, a trail worker posting a sign. Both meetings provided helpful information on trail conditions ahead. The bridge is very nice, with viewing platforms on both sides.

At 10:40am, I was at the start of a three-mile detour on country roads. The trail worker said they haven't been able the get the BNSF railroad to let them cross an active track.

I had the detour behind me at 11:10am. Here was a pleasant spot in the shade, with a cool south breeze, so I called my wife. She had lots of news for me to hear, and it was a fun eighteen-minute visit.

The trail's crossing at KS-68 has signals which can be activated to alert drivers of trail users crossing the highway. Just after I crossed, it was noon. I'd ridden 10.7 miles so far. My destination was the city park in Admire. Another day where I'd have to keep moving.

At 12:37pm, I turned north onto Colorado Road, to detour around three bridges I'd read (and the trail worker confirmed) were out. This brought me to the town of Pomona, which has a Dollar General store. I bought a few supplies, and two single-serving pies and two chocolate milks for lunch. Had lunch at the picnic table they have here, then took off west on KS-68 at 1:13pm.

Flat, up a hill, then down a hill, brought me back to the trail. Passed by a lake here. Except stopping to take pictures, I kept moving, for it was still a ways to Admire, and storms were coming.

I started to slow down three miles from Vassar. It was really hot out here, and I was sleepy-tired. I set my sights on just getting to Vassar, where there would be a place to lie down for a moment. I was moving awfully slow, but came to a tunnel for getting under KS-268. There was shade in there! And an amplified breeze! I leaned up against the wall there, drank some of the ice water from my Klean Kanteen, and fell asleep for a minute. That break was all I needed, and I was ready to go again after twenty-six minutes.

I reached the trailhead at Vassar at 3:44pm, but only stayed there for a minute, figuring arrival time to Admire (about 8:00pm, maybe).

I was nearing the trail bridge over US-75 when I noticed a clicking sound coming from the back fender. It was clumps of thorns. Uh-oh! I have tire liners, but didn't want to test them like this. Then I could see that the tire was already losing air. And look at all the thorns on the front tire! This isn't good. Making Admire now probably won't work. I searched my GPS list for alternate camping spots. The first one listed was only 0.22 straight-line miles away! Turned out Crossroads RV Park was just over a hill, out of my sight. So this bad news came with some good news, for I could walk the bike a quarter of a mile.

Following an overgrown path east of US-75, I got the bike - now with two flat tires - to the campground office at 4:55pm. Checked in and bought a lemonade, before proceeding to the tent camping area.

That darkness you see in the sky before a storm was there to the northwest, but it wasn't moving this way too quickly. Still, I set up the tent first thing. I'd just gotten all the gear inside - at 6:00pm - when it started to rain. Then it stopped. I went over by the storm shelter, (where there are some rocks to sit on) with my bag of ginger snaps. It's fun to watch a storm come in, and this one was here for good at 6:45pm.

I helped the tent stay up during a few windy moments, then waited for it to quit raining. After sorting pictures, I decided to take a nap, so rolled out my sleeping pad. Later, I knew I had a problem when I rolled over and water started running into my boot. The left side of the tent was leaking some, but the situation wasn't out of hand. It rained continuously until 11:55pm, then, a quiet calm. Got out to enjoy that. I love Kansas!

Jeff

Spent: $14.87 plus $3 (breakfast) + $8.86 (food supplies, lunch items) + $20 (campsite) + $1.61 (lemonade) = $48.34.

Day 6 - Ottawa, KS to Lyndon, KS
Heart 0 Comment 0

+ plus signs indicate pictures added after returning home from the trip +

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ where Flint Hills Nature Trail crosses KS-68 near Richter, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ with two flat tires, I say "good-bye" to the Flint Hills Nature Trail - Osage County, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ tent camping area at Crossroads RV Park & Campground - Lyndon, KS +
Heart 0 Comment 0
+ storm shelter at Crossroads RV Park & Campground - Lyndon, KS +
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 29 miles (47 km)
Total: 263 miles (423 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0