Oct 30 - San Pier dʼIsonzo (near Trieste Airport): Getting closer to the departure point in style - Hvala: It's Been Thirty Sweet Years (Tour 16) - 2016 🇭🇷 🇸🇮 🇮🇹 - CycleBlaze

October 30, 2016

Oct 30 - San Pier dʼIsonzo (near Trieste Airport): Getting closer to the departure point in style

B&B Happy Family, San Pièr dʼIsonzo & San Zanut, Italy

I hadn't realized it, but the rest of the world changes its clocks the week before we do in North America. Another foolish thing the US dreamed up and being so close to them, once again, we kind of had no choice but to follow suit.

All of this to say that I thought it was shortly after 0800 and that I had slept in (which I had), and was laying there reading when all of a sudden the bed started to feel kind of like a hammock. That is, it was swaying back and forth. Pictures on the walls were swaying and rattling and the building kind of creaked. Sure enough, later in the day I read that a fourth earthquake had hit in the same area in the boot of Italy and it was felt up into Austria. I had experienced my first earthquake. As it was happening my thoughts were that if it was to get bad, there is no way to know what would or would not fall from above. And if it did, I would be in trouble pretty quickly.

The grounds of B&B Happy Family. The perfect spot either when arriving to the area or on your way home. The hostess is a fantastic person and the property is beautiful.
- San Pièr dʼIsonzo, Italy
Heart 0 Comment 0

After a tasty breakfast I headed out with my bike-in-a-bag. With the one injured wheel, I was not sure how well the going would be, but after a suitcase hack of wrapping the wheel in duct tape it rolled beautifully.

The bus left right on time at 1055 and was PACKED with students and teachers from the United World College of the Adriatic. A place to keep in mind in the medium future.

The grounds of B&B Happy Family. The perfect spot either when arriving to the area or on your way home. The hostess is a fantastic person and the property is beautiful.
- San Pièr dʼIsonzo, Italy
Heart 0 Comment 0

Next was a taxi to an awesome BnB a few km from the airport - Happy Family BnB. The house is great, the host is awesome and the location is perfect for the start or end of a cycling trip. Right off the bat the host offered a glass of local wine or beer, I chose red wine and sat and chatted in french seeing as I know so little Italian.

In chatting with her I learned that I should have contacted her to send a taxi. Where she says her contact charges €15, she shook her head when I told her I had been charged €20 and was cheated. Word to the wise for anyone going there next.

The grounds of B&B Happy Family. The perfect spot either when arriving to the area or on your way home. The hostess is a fantastic person and the property is beautiful.
- San Pièr dʼIsonzo, Italy
Heart 0 Comment 0

The day went quickly and flights would be early tomorrow morning.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0