Oct 31 - Trieste TRS to Munich MUC to Toronto YYZ to Timmins YTS: And then a drive home to Cochrane - Hvala: It's Been Thirty Sweet Years (Tour 16) - 2016 🇭🇷 🇸🇮 🇮🇹 - CycleBlaze

October 31, 2016

Oct 31 - Trieste TRS to Munich MUC to Toronto YYZ to Timmins YTS: And then a drive home to Cochrane

TRUE to form, I slept with one eye open and one eye closed. The taxi came shortly after 0500 for the ten minute ride to the airport. I was the only one in line, then the first of three in line for security, who was not even there yet.

A great airport to get in and out of Europe, the Trieste airport is smallish (about the size of the Varadero airport) so you don't have to spend tonnes of time waiting as in so many of the continent's airports. Checking in is quick and painless; when I arrived two weeks ago the luggage pickup was quick and I was outside and onto a bus to the centre of Trieste within 15 to 30 minutes.
- Trieste Airport TRS, Italy
Heart 0 Comment 0

Quite often when I fly, there are little hiccups that arise just to keep me on my toes. This time, we were delayed for half an hour because of dense fog in Munich so the landings were stretched out, so no sense in leaving here just to circle for an hour. When we did finally leave, the sixty minute flight was great. It was clear in Trieste so I could see the city, across to Venice and into the edge of the Alps. But then the rest of the Alps were coated in thick cream-like clouds which obscured all but some of the tips of the mountains. Amazing to see.

Also amazing was upon our approach to Munich I could see many planes queued for their arrival and landing. It looked clear... until we got to the ground when the wispy fog became thick dense white.

Once again at this cool crossroads. What looks like a brewery in the Munich airport shops. It was too early for any sampling but did poke my head in for a peek.
- Munich Airport MUC, Munich, Germany
Heart 0 Comment 0

Again, the Munich to Toronto flight was delayed, this time for an hour for a mechanical issue. Then we had to wait for the log books to be returned. One hour later we were off. Vacant seat beside me to stretch my legs, I read, watched movies and a quick eight hours and thirty minutes later... we were coming into Toronto about one hour late. Not late enough for me to miss my connection to Timmins. In fact, I even had enough time to have dinner in the airport lounge. How cool is that?

A friend was on that plane, so the flight aboard the Bombardier Q400 went very quickly. Dad was there to bring me to the door.

So after all of those flights, km cycled and seafood and wine... this trip was in the books.

Time to plan yet another!

Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0