Oct 26 - Opatija to Ilirska Bistrica, Slovenija: Big climbs through sunny forested hills - Hvala: It's Been Thirty Sweet Years (Tour 16) - 2016 🇭🇷 🇸🇮 🇮🇹 - CycleBlaze

October 26, 2016

Oct 26 - Opatija to Ilirska Bistrica, Slovenija: Big climbs through sunny forested hills

Gostilna Pri Matetu, Ilirska Bistrica

THROUGHOUT the night I checked the today's hourly forecast a few times. Initially forecast to rain, at some point it switched to cloudy before the sun comes out in the afternoon. Now it looks like the sun might be out by 9 am. What a nice climb through the hills with views of the Adriatic that would be, as I head north and start my loop back to Trieste.

I knew there would be somewhat of a climb out of Opatija but holy smokes. A few were 17% inclines. Each time I thought I had reached the 'top' right around the corner was yet another monster climb. Views back to the Adriatic were awesome as the sky continued to clear. I could easily see across the water to Rijeka, then down the coast to some of the islands.

The GPS kept wanting me to do a big loop that would add another 10 km or so. I thought there had to be a more direct route to parallel the big highway so I asked someone and sure enough, yes, I just had to keep straight on the road.

Suddenly there was a border crossing and was soon back into the EU. As I headed inland, just as I had felt in 2003, things changed quite a bit. Much greener, the forests were more jungley than arid, and now there were cattle in some of the fields.

The last bit was about a 4 km descent into town. The town is built around a few little pretty rivers with high rising hills all around. Apparently there is not much here, but that's fine. I just want nice relaxing cycle days for the last few remaining.

My guest house is more than 100 years old but the rooms are updated and new and my views look along the road but also some of the nearby hills. They have a restaurant so for lunch I had a dark Laško beer (a dark beer, which is not my fave kind of beer) and a hamburger that was as big as a plate. It was delicious with the prosciutto and all, and the bun was delicious. There was no way I could eat it all so only ate half of the bread. So basically a half of a loaf of bread.

I had a wee snooze after calling home then went for a walk around town and along one of the rivers. Tiring after a while I called it a day, looking forward to another sunny ride tomorrow.

On the monstrous climb out of Opatija before the clouds dissipated.
- Opatija, Hrvatska
Heart 0 Comment 0
Skies clearing as I headed to Slovenija.
- near Opatija, Hrvatska
Heart 0 Comment 0
Skies clearing as I headed to Slovenija.
- near Opatija, Hrvatska
Heart 0 Comment 0
Just before the Slovenija border I stopped to spend some of my last Croatian coins and noticed this sign on the table. Worthy of a read.
- Rupa, Hrvatska
Heart 0 Comment 0
I've never seen a hamburger quite this big. Though I had been cycling and was hungry, I couldn't devour this entire cow-burger.
- Ilirska Bistrica, Slovenija
Heart 0 Comment 0
Parts of this small town were quite pretty, as I found out on my walk after eating that entire side of beef.
- Ilirska Bistrica, Slovenija
Heart 0 Comment 0
War memorial.
- Ilirska Bistrica, Slovenija
Heart 0 Comment 0
Out my B&B window in the direction I will follow tomorrow. A smallish town, yet it certainly has its charm. I walked some of the streets to find newish buildings, abandoned homes and commercial buildings, sites of historical significance from years prior to Yugoslavia through those years and to the present.
- Ilirska Bistrica, Slovenija
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 36 km (22 miles)
Total: 275 km (171 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0