Oct 27 - Ilirska Bistrica to Postojna: Meeting up with my past (I was here in 2003) - Hvala: It's Been Thirty Sweet Years (Tour 16) - 2016 🇭🇷 🇸🇮 🇮🇹 - CycleBlaze

October 27, 2016

Oct 27 - Ilirska Bistrica to Postojna: Meeting up with my past (I was here in 2003)

Youth Hostel Proteus, Postojna

WAY back in 2003 I went on a cycling trip that took me right across Europe. This was a life changing journey that has stayed with me forever. Today I crossed that route from my past and was able to reminisce in doing so. In a way I was able to reunite with the me of thirteen years ago. Figuratively, of course. I would need a Tardis to actually run into the younger me, eh, Alex?

An image for Alex of his wee bear.
- Ilirska Bistrica, Slovenija
Heart 0 Comment 0
A sleepy little village just out of town.
- Ilirska Bistrica, Slovenija
Heart 0 Comment 0
I liked the look of the pile of limestone alongside the bike.
- near Postojna, Slovenija
Heart 0 Comment 0

Yes! Blue skies and sun rising over the mountains this morning. Quickly ready I went to the little market across the road for some breakfast energy and I was away into the 7 C morning. Yes, it was cool, but the sun was nice.

The sun shone down. And it was nice. The leaves on the trees were orangey and sometimes drifted down to meet me as I pedaled by. The air smelled earthy and fall-like reminding how much Grandma Sadie loved the fall. She would have been proud of yet another cycling journey for me.

Some of the mountain tops above the valleys I was in had villages, churches or castles on them. The cows grazed in the fields. Stone houses, sometimes deserted, grew out of the fields or forests beside the road. At one point the River Reka gurgled away beside me. The stone bridges across were picture-perfect so I stopped for pictures. Actually stopped often this morning for photos. My legs felt strong.

In short, I was happy and the riding was perfect.

As I approached Postojna, I noticed that the stream had changed directions, so that now I was working my way uphill. Still, I was fine looking around me in awe of the karst mountains in the distance. I am not positive, but I think they might be the edge of the Julian Alps so am not sure if I will encounter them or not as my next leg is westwards towards the Italian border. From what I can tell, there are no more tough climbs for me. Only descents, including a wild looking one into Trieste.

Beautiful day for a ride.
- near Postojna, Slovenija
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rolling hills on a cool morning.
- near Postojna, Slovenija
Heart 0 Comment 0

Having been here Before, I tried to see if there was anything I could remember, but things were only vaguely familiar. It was only once I had checked into the accommodations and went looking for lunch that I recognized the church in the town centre as well as the TIC (Tourist Information Centre) that I had used in 2003. Back then I had been unable to find a place to stay on my own so went to them for help. They found me a nice place that I think I found again in my wanderings, but am not completely certain. At the time, it was a pleasant old man who spoke no English, but he must have been in his 80s. Surely 13 years later... :(

The receptionist had suggested a restaurant here so I went and it was quite good. I decided to also order a draught beer, and what a find that was. Apparently it is made just out of Postojna by friends of the fellow who works at the restaurant. The brewers had started as homebrewers then expanded to a few local restaurants. It was a delicious American Pale Ale with a blend of four citrusy hops... the C's I suppose.

Crossing the Reka River.
- near Postojna, Slovenija
Heart 0 Comment 0
Alongside the Reka River
- near Postojna, Slovenija
Heart 0 Comment 0

I ended up walking up the hill that overlooks the town. There were views across to other hilltops in the area as well as along a number of the valleys, including to the west where I will be heading tomorrow.

When suppertime rolled around I was not terribly hungry so ended up eating here in the hostel cafeteria. For €4.10 I had a huge pork schnitzel, potato salad, lettuce salad, soup, juice and a banana. I ate about two thirds of the meal and saved the banana for breakfast. Minions would be happy.

Being a bit tired this evening, I read a bit and crashed early. Tomorrow is a bit longer, I think, so I want to be well rested.

Intriguing sign near the military museum aong my route this morning.
- near Postojna, Slovenija
Heart 0 Comment 0
My huge room at the hostel. Without a bat of an eye they let me bring my bike right up the stairs and into my room. I sleep better knowing it's safe!
- Postojna, Slovenija
Heart 0 Comment 0
Of course, I had to come to this very spot. The very spot where I had stood thirteen years ago and snapped a photo of the Church of St. Stephen. Time passes; time threads cross once again.
- Postojna, Slovenija
Heart 0 Comment 0
I asked the receptionist at the hostel for a recommendation for lunch and she suggested Storja Pod. As it happens it is the number one restaurant on Tripadvisor and for good reason. Great ambiance, tasty food, friendly servers and delicious local craft beer.
- Postojna, Slovenija
Heart 0 Comment 0
Towering over the city is a hill covered with walking trails and topped with lookouts with views across Postojna and into the countryside. Towering over the hill is a huge flagpole topped with Slovenija's flag.
- Postojna, Slovenija
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 47 km (29 miles)
Total: 322 km (200 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0