Oct 25 - Pula to Opatija (by bus): So far, so good - Hvala: It's Been Thirty Sweet Years (Tour 16) - 2016 🇭🇷 🇸🇮 🇮🇹 - CycleBlaze

October 25, 2016

Oct 25 - Pula to Opatija (by bus): So far, so good

Apartment Marina, Opatija

TRUE to form, I was sleeping only lightly all night so when my alarm went off I popped up and got ready, heading out the door and down the street before 0700. Of course, it was still dark out but having been to the bus station a couple of times, it was easy to find my way in the misty gloom.

There was no problem paying the 94 Kn for me, but the clerk told me I would have to pay the driver for the bike. Nervousness.

When 0825 came along, so did the bus and its driver. I was expecting 80 Kn for the bike, but it only ended up being 10 Kn for the bike and 10 Kn for the panniers. That is about CAD$4. I popped them into the hold of the bus and got onboard to a bus as comfy as the one we had last year in Czechia, again with free wifi to wile away the time.

The trip began through the winding streets of Pula but we were soon in the countryside, then into some pretty amazing mountains. It's too bad that it is so hazy out. There were some awesome views into valleys below and at times the sea. On one hairy climb I looked down beside me wayyyy down below. And this was with a 1 m guard rail. No way it would hold a bus from falling into the chasm below. Wouldn't you know it, but on the next hairpin curve another bus came flying around the corner right in front of us so the driver had to tramp on the brakes to keep us from colliding. Not sure if I should keep watching out the windows or play with my device instead!

Waiting for my bus to Opatija to arrive. For 10 Kuna I was able to put the folded bike into the hold of the bus. Talk about logic - charging for the space it takes rather than what it is. Or in other terms, encouraging dual modes of transportation.
- Pula, Croatia
Heart 0 Comment 0
Along the route to Opatija by bus.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I arrived safely into Opatija as the bus came down, down, and down into the seaside resort town. It was used as a health spa in the late 1800s and early 1900s. I slid the bike out of the bus, loaded on the bags, set the gps and along I came up Marsala Tita until I arrived to the big villa which contains my apartment. I had messaged the owner from the bus but had not heard back, and there were no signs indicating the door to the apartment so I just kind of wandered and randomly knocked on one door. Lo and behold there was a young German couple who said yes it was the right place and that they were just about ready to leave but I could come in out of the rain.

As they were leaving asked about a restaurant and they suggested one just down the street called Ziraffa, so I went. What a great meal. Sea bass, roasted potatoes, zucchini, onion and of course... local red wine. The whole thing came to 100 Kn.

By now I had heard from the apartment owner who would meet me at the apartment and they suggested the Lungomare which is a long walk along the sea wall. First created in the 1880s and finished in 1911 it was to improve healthy living even way back then. Unfortunately, the day was really gray and drab and wet, but it was still beautiful with views out across the water to Rijeka.

Restuarant "Ziraffa". The ambiance was great, the food was tasty and the staff helpful and friendly.
- Opatija, Hrvatska
Heart 0 Comment 0
"There is a 12 km-long promenade along the entire riviera, the Lungomare from Volosko, via Opatija" - Wikipedia
- Opatija, Hrvatska
Heart 0 Comment 0
"There is a 12 km-long promenade along the entire riviera, the Lungomare from Volosko, via Opatija" - Wikipedia
- Opatija, Hrvatska
Heart 0 Comment 0
"There is a 12 km-long promenade along the entire riviera, the Lungomare from Volosko, via Opatija" - Wikipedia
- Opatija, Hrvatska
Heart 0 Comment 0
"There is a 12 km-long promenade along the entire riviera, the Lungomare from Volosko, via Opatija" - Wikipedia
- Opatija, Hrvatska
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 4 km (2 miles)
Total: 239 km (148 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0