Wednesday Dec 10: Lisboa to Frankfurt to Toronto to Timmins to Cochrane - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

December 10, 2003

Wednesday Dec 10: Lisboa to Frankfurt to Toronto to Timmins to Cochrane

Getting somewhere can sometimes seem so long. Like going from Lisboa to Cochrane in a day. When your flight across the Ocean is late and you think you'll be late or miss your next flight so have to race full tilt around Toronto's Pearson International Airport yelling out, "Excuse me, please, I'm coming through but can't see anyone" as I go rushing through the halls with two huge boxes on a cart. No, I did not hit anyone!

As it turned out, the flight to Timmins was delayed slightly, so it was no problem. Plus, the people at Air Canada and Jazz (Air Ontario) were incredibly helpful and accommodating in getting my boxes and me onto that plane. I thanked those I saw, but 'Thank you' again.

We were just nicely boarded onto the plane, the engines were just getting going when they immediately shut down. The Captain came onto the radio saying that the winter weather in Timmins was preventing us from leaving. The airport crew up there had snowplows to clear the runways, but we would have to de-plane and try again in 30 minutes. Oh-oh.

True to form, 30 minutes later we were called back for boarding, did so, took off, and with very strong tailwinds, not that long behind schedule we arrived to a beautiful wintery scene, VERY Christmasy. I was almost there. With an extra long drive through a winter storm, I was back in Cochrane. From Lisboa this morning. I am home.

And that almost does it for this account. I'll complete my afterthoughts shortly. Stay tuned!

Back home for Christmas!
Heart 0 Comment 0
... and some welcome-home balloons.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
"Istanbul to Lisbon"... and Back again
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0