Final Thoughts on my - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

December 12, 2003

Final Thoughts on my

Now that I am back home, and given thought to this "crazy" adventure, I have had a few final comments.

A trip like this, I would think, is something not everyone has the opportunity to do or the inclination to do. Though I know I have mentioned it before, I still do not feel what I have done is a near-impossible feat. Each day I had a few little adventures that in time, brought me from Istanbul to Lisboa. I am in no way saying this in a negative way, but that really, anyone could do this if they chose to do so. But, the trip certainly has kept the pilot light going in the flame of my desire to travel.

Being back from the mind-opening experience of the trip I see how our society needs to relax and take a breath, not be so uptight. Maybe we need that two-hour siesta to relax, eat, mingle and enjoy the day. Carpe diem. Seize the day. Cherish it; don't waste it. Get it, Sue Beck?

Tied in with this is the notion of family and friends. They are so precious. Often we take for granted those around us. Yes, I know, this is said, re-said, and said again. But it is so true. I missed having these precious people around me. Though the trip has its greatness and I love to travel, home is where the heart is, in my opinion. Or am I just a sucker for this country of mine that I hold in such high esteem and my home area with its safety, security and great people? (And if you've read all of my journal, its hot water and bath tubs!!).

I would like to thank everyone from all over who sent me "positive" thoughts whether privately or publicly. I believe these protected me in some ways. After a long day on the road, or when I was missing people at home, it was comforting to read the warm comments sent to me through the wires. They were appreciated.

And finally, part of what I discussed before I left and throughout... Particularly with Christmas only days away, I would ask that if you read this and feel it in yourself to do so, please, please, please make a donation to a charity to help those in need. My goal is to have people donate a cumulative total of one dollar per km I cycled, for a total of $5,000. Whether you can donate one dollar, ten dollars, a bag of groceries, or a donation of time with a local charity in your area, please do something. This can be through your local Lion's Club, or any other charity of your choice.

I hope the "crazy" nature of what I have done with this trip encourages you to make a difference out there. If we all make a little difference, everything will be improved for all.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0