What has been going on?: Do the wheels still turn? - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

August 28, 2013

What has been going on?: Do the wheels still turn?

2013

My, how a decade can 'slip' by so quickly. Three thousand, six hundred and fifty odd days. Every day since, I STILL remember or re-experience in my mind, some aspect of that tour. It remains the most influential part of my life ever since.

Over these years I have continued to cycle tour. Nothing has been as long as this epic journey of mine, and I will likely not choose to do something as long or at least as regimented as this was.

This being said, I 'feel' building within me some type of epic tour. Less than two years from now I will turn fifty and feel that my half century point should be marked by something big. It would not be as grueling, but could be either as long in time or distance but not both. This is not because of physical ability, rather some type of wisdom. Why push myself so much when I don't have to? Relax a bit more if I am tired, see a bit more along the way.

It was ten years ago that I began that journey; looking forward to more decades of the same!

2014

The next year of the following decade and another tour completed, this time in the Bavarian Alps. Though eleven years older, after a few days I could feel my strength and endurance building. It re-affirms what I remember many years ago in a Bicycling article - that the human body can behave like it is shedding years if it continues to exercise even if there has been a lull in between. That is, start RIGHT NOW and you will get younger. Cool, eh?

The wish for an epic ride next year has grown. But there is this little seed of an idea that has germinated and is poking its head into the sunlight. What if, instead of an extreme distance or an overly lengthy time period, I break up my turn-50 year with a variety of different tours? For example, what if I tour a couple of weeks in Cuba when it is winter here at home, then maybe a tour of southern Spain in the spring, pushing the pedals in New Zealand in the fall, and finally a little ride around Ecuador just before Christmas?

Wouldn't that be a year to remember?

2017

A number more great touring years. This year marked the 17th tour with more to come. These tours have fed my love of the sport, with the current wish list including a southern Portugal/Spain to Lisbon near or at the top.

In the meantime, my wee lad has grown and will be 12 in February, so our first 'real' tour together draws nearer; this record of progress is here online for you, Alex, to read as our tour approaches! It is also a written record of the evolution of my 'career' as a touring cyclist.

I continue to realize (and am amazed by it) how much of an influence this 2003 tour had on me. Though I do like to explore new regions, it has been so enjoyable to return to that route, to re-experience it in various regions: A few times back to the end in Lisbon, in the Madrid area and along a stretch of Croatia and Slovenija. Memories fade with time, today's light may be different than yesterday's, and moods change like the wind. Though the spot may be the same, it is all new again the second, third or fourth time around.

2022

What in the past five years? Injuries... that healed. Covid... that is passing. More tours... to Portugal, Austria, Czechia, Ontario. And Alex's Easter Egg (yes for you, Alexio, when you read this journal one day)... our tour is back online after having been cancelled in 2020 due to the pandemic. Next August, you and I will go biking in France!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0