Tuesday Sep 16: Makarska to Split: Pain from the start to finish line - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

September 16, 2003

Tuesday Sep 16: Makarska to Split: Pain from the start to finish line

Maybe it was the wine I had last night too close to going to bed, but I think it was more that thing that was sneezing all over me yesterday at the cyber-cafe. I had hoped that I had escaped unscathed, but all night I had a wee bit of a headache, and today every pedal stroke was painful. And now here I am in Split feeling quite tired and with that scratchy feeling in the back of my throat. OH NO!!! I had not figured on getting sick. Now what? Fight it, I say!

To see what I felt about today's route, look back on the last few days' words about the Dalmatian coast. More stunning-ness, if that is a word. If not, I made it one.

I had a thought today as I was dodging buses and trucks... Why is it that all over the place perfectly fine people as they are, when they get behind the wheel of a vehicle they become raving maniacs on the road? I am fine and stay to my three mm of space at the side, but holy smokes it can be tough sometimes.

Anyway, that rant off my chest, I just had the most amazing meal. I went to Kod Joze where I had a scampi/garlic cream soup and then home-made green noodles in a butter and garlic sauce, and just smothered in clams, mussels, shrimp and scampi. When I ordered it, even the waiter told me it was a great choice. And wow, was it ever. And despite the size of my appetite, I am now stuffed, though a wee bit thirsty.

As soon as the sun cools down and the light softens I am going into Diocletian's Palace. This was his retirement home after leaving Rome and persecuting the Christians. I am about a 5 minute walk from the palace, which appears in amazing condition. Should be rather interesting.

Tomorrow, I head north, but how far depends on how I feel.

All is well, this place is better every day.

Arrival in Split
Heart 0 Comment 0
Diocletian's Palace in the evening
Heart 0 Comment 0
More of the palace by night
Heart 0 Comment 0
Just outside the palace.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 61 km (38 miles)
Total: 999 km (620 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0