Wednesday Sep 17: Split to Sibenik to Vodice - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

September 17, 2003

Wednesday Sep 17: Split to Sibenik to Vodice

Well, what an odd day...

I woke up feeling great today, no cold, so no more late wine for this pedaller. Maybe a drop, but no more.

I ran into Monty the American cyclist from Idaho. He is cycling from Germany to Split, then taking a 35 hr bus back to Amsterdam to fly home and resume university. No, he did not ask to make any kind of deal.

I got to Sibenik around lunch time and looked for a place. Like LP said, it would be hard in the center, and as it turns out, impossible. So, I set off into the midday sun up the long climb out of the city (after already going about 84 km of course). My bike seemed kind of slow and when I looked down, lucky me, I had a flat rear tire on the bike. But there was good news, right beside me was a service station with an air pump. I pulled in to figure out the problem (ie why the tire was so flat) and then everyone in Croatia decided to fill their tires, too. So once they had done, I patched it up, rotated my tires (yup, bikes, too) and was away.

Before I knew it another 15 or so km had passed (definitely sarcasm) and I was here in Vodice. The first few places were more interested in trying to fill a double room in zero-tourist season, so it took a few attempts, but I found a good one who even let me wash the filthy bike - ahhhh, it is burgundy-coloured.

I just finished having grilled shark and a nicely hopped local beer at a restaurant that is about 30 feet from the seaside. Then the harbour. And a backdrop of mountains. Once again, just fine with me!

I hear that a ferry ride is a must around here, so I might ferry from Zadar to Rijeka if there is one in service at a good time. Otherwise, next time, I guess.

What a zombie I was last night. I explored the city with what energy I had left, but ended up going back to my room to rest and fell asleep at around 8 pm. Is that really before little kids have to go to bed?! At least the paragraph and a half of Ludlum that I read seemed good between head bobbings.

Home sweet home, or what?!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Here's a table with a view
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 99 km (61 miles)
Total: 1,098 km (682 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0