Monday Sep 15: Neum to Makarska, Hrvatska: This country continues to amaze me - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

September 15, 2003

Monday Sep 15: Neum to Makarska, Hrvatska: This country continues to amaze me

Breakfast looking out over the harbour as the sun started to shine on the mountains across the water. Wow.

On the bike, full sunshine again, and wind at my back. I could have taken a picture every minute or so, but figured it was overkill, somehow. In real time it would take a few months to go through my pics - kind of like when someone pulls out their family pictures and forces you to agonize through them for an eternity or two.

Most of the ride was fine, physically, but with continuous hills, by about the 70 km point I was starting to tire out. Thankfully my blueberry nectar/juice kept me on track and not on the side of the road weeping in pain - or dozing in the beating sun. But I did have to be extra cautious as the traffic was heavy. Since I had breakfast at the Adria, instead of being on the road by 6:30am, I was an hour later, and the traffic was that much busier. Maybe I'll start at 5 am tomorrow (ummm, no I will not.)

Well, time to go find a nice fish restaurant and get away from the hacking, coughing and sneezing thing beside me - I do not need a cold.

The road near Neum, BH
Heart 0 Comment 0
This picture almost looks fake, but it isn't
Heart 0 Comment 0
And I thought this one didn't turn out!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 85 km (53 miles)
Total: 938 km (582 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0