Sunday Nov 16: Leon to Rabanal del Camino: Beautiful Places, but... - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

November 16, 2003

Sunday Nov 16: Leon to Rabanal del Camino: Beautiful Places, but...

A beautiful day, but I made a silly mistake again. After stopping in Astorga for a snack, and making sure I was frozen to the bone, I kept going to what I thought was the next semi-large-ish town. Well, it was about 200 people and I think they were all gone. Nowhere to stay. So, weak by this point, I kept going and finally made it.

The albuergo had nobody answer at the door when I knocked, and when I luckily found another, it was not open, but they said the first place would be at 1 pm.

Anyway, to give a sorrowful story a very happy ending, shortly after 1 pm along came my guardian angel who opened up the place, gave me accommodation, and showed me into the room with the fireplace burning beautifully.

I won't go on and on about my day since I felt under the weather (yes STILL!!) so spent it resting and reading and wondering what to do next. At least I am burning through the pages of Dickens' Bleak House!

Two fellow cyclists (from NE Spain)
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 65 km (40 miles)
Total: 3,959 km (2,459 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0