Saturday Nov 15: Sahagun to Leon: Castilian Plains Forever - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

November 15, 2003

Saturday Nov 15: Sahagun to Leon: Castilian Plains Forever

I slept remarkably well in a huge empty and cold church - the blankets must have been woollen, for I was toasty warm.

It was a bit darker this morning when I started because the heavy rain was absorbing any first light in the 8 am morning. There was a strong wind this morning, but would you believe that it was eventually to be at my back once I turned north for Leon. The Gods Must be Crazy.

It was a very mundane ride today. The clouds were low and lead-gray, the rain continually poured down, the fields were full of water, and Brent was soaked. For entertainment I kept squeezing my hands together in fists to watch the water pour out. Leaping lizards it was raining a lot!

A few km before Leon I sadly saw some big chunks of upturned glass as I rode over them. The bike tires were fine, but I seemed to be a bit 'draggy' all the way into the city. I did not want to check, but eventually did, and confirmed my fears that I had a pancake-flat trailer tire. I was so cold that I could not stop to change it, so I just kept riding. Note: Do not use this method of bicycle maintenance - when it comes time to patch the tire, instead of one hole there are now about 120.

I got to the Catedral and the tourist information who directed me to the nearest Refugio where I got ready and now here I am. It is not the warmest place, so I think I will 'spoil' myself tomorrow with a hostal or hotel so I can experience heat and get the blood thawed out from my veins. No, it's not that bad at all - I just like to exaggerate to make sure everyone is awake out there.

I just uploaded a bunch of pics from the last few weeks, so am on my way to explore the city and get some lunch for I am starved!

By the way, jamon is a cured pork hind-quarter that is shaved into thin slices and either eaten alone or in a sandwich. It is salty and yummy. (I was asked this question in the guestbook.) I would suggest doing a Google search to get a picture to get a real feel for how the bars and stores look with a few hundred of these cured pork hindquarters hanging all over the place.

Near Leon's Ayuntamiento
Heart 0 Comment 0
Leon's Catedral
Heart 0 Comment 0
How long has this guy been sitting here, anyway?!
Heart 0 Comment 0
How to make a street full of shoppers look like a street celebration
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 72 km (45 miles)
Total: 3,894 km (2,418 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0