Saturday Nov 1: Santo Domingo de la Calzada to Burgos: Last day riding for a bit - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

November 1, 2003

Saturday Nov 1: Santo Domingo de la Calzada to Burgos: Last day riding for a bit

Not surprised by what the skies may throw my way, it was not a shock to hear lots of rain in the night, to see the ground dry when I got up, and to have it pouring when I left the hostal a little while later.

Yes, the rain kept up all the way. Yes, the wind was in my face except for the climb through the Montes de Oca, which was actually quite pretty, as I peeked between the spikes of falling rain. Let's just say I was relieved to see the buildings of Burgos in the distance when I was just burning myself out. And I was here by about 11 am; not bad, eh?

I found my way right to my hostal, where they kindly gave me a pail of warm water and I finally washed the bike off - wow, I can see the paint again. Then they let me put it in my room while I am here for the two days. Then I popped the most important question: Would they be able to store the bike somewhere for me while I am in Madrid for two weeks? Yes, not here in the hostal, but they said they have somewhere to keep it. I do not quite trust them yet, but I think all will be well. What a relief.

With that off my mind, it was time for tapas beside the immense and incredible Catedral. It is spikey like the one in Milano. The Catedral, not the tapas. Then the skies cleared so I think I got some pretty nice pictures of said Catedral, the statue of El Cid, the bridges across the river, the park along the river. Not a chic city, but still some very nice parts to it. The sun coming out, of course, changed things immensely. Instead of a dull gray, the buildings in the old centre are a bright yellowish sandstone colour, and the Catedral glimmers in the sun. It sure is nice to see clear blue skies.

I feel kind of lazy. I have no cycling for a bit, plus, I will be in Burgos again tomorrow, and will go to Madrid on Monday. I won't know what to do with myself, but it will be kind of nice to be sitting on more than three square inches for the whole day, or not sitting at all!

Park near the Catedral, Burgos
Heart 0 Comment 0
Catedral and Puente, Burgos
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 69 km (43 miles)
Total: 3,695 km (2,295 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0