Sunday Nov 2: Burgos: Rest & Exploration - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

November 2, 2003

Sunday Nov 2: Burgos: Rest & Exploration

It felt so great to sleep in the morning, then just read a book. I have missed that lately. Then, I just felt the right thing to do would be to go to church in the Catredal, so I did. It was very nice, and kind of what I needed this morning.

The rest of the morning I spent exploring the Catedral. What a magnificent place. The carvings, the soaring columns and buttresses, the windows, the splendour of the chapels. Well worth a trip on its own, which I had actually heard before. In fact, I have heard it described as the most impressive cathedral in Spain.

Next I was going to take the half-hour walk out to the monastery, which would have been closed by then, but still, I wanted to go. But, I got a few blocks along the river and the wind was so cold, combined with the 4 C temperature, I am surprised my nose didn't fall off. So I canned that idea instead with one to return to my room and have a siesta and read a bit. A nice Sunday afternoon thing to do anyway. I am loving the cycling but, it has been a hectic enough time that it is nice to have a "day off". I had postponed it in Pau last week, so really needed one. I think I might get a comment or two about that, eh? A break from a holiday! Hahahaha!!! I might get nails thrown under my tires, so I'd better watch out.

The other great thing, is that I just finished storing my bike away in the attic of the place I am staying. It is accessible by nobody but one person, and will allow me to leave behind the bike, trailer, and other gear for which I will have no need in Madrid.

So, tomorrow morning I am off to Madrid, BY BUS!! Sinful, or what?! Well, I think I will pay when I get back. It will be that much later (AND COLDER) into the month. Where I had lunch today the guy who was serving said Burgos is known for its cold weather. Really??

Along the river in Burgos
Heart 0 Comment 0
Catedral by night, Burgos
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0