Friday Oct 31: Logrono to Santo Domingo de la Calzada: Happy Ghoulies and Ghosties - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

October 31, 2003

Friday Oct 31: Logrono to Santo Domingo de la Calzada: Happy Ghoulies and Ghosties

I could hear the water falling quite heavily all night. And when I looked out, it was raining quite a bit, too. So, I put on all the rain gear, packed up, and headed out into a dripping and dark city. I stopped at the edge of the city when the sidewalks ended to grab a bite to eat since it was still a bit too dark to ride the roads.

Once it was fine out, I continued along into similar terrain as the last few days. As I went I could see that I was approaching a patch of blue sky, the road and ground dried up, and it was a great ride. These rolling hills are absolutely covered from end to end, top to bottom with grapevines. Many of them still had the grapes on them, but I am too paranoid to experience the inside of a Spanish jail to step into the field and pick off a few of the dark fruits.

About 7 km before I got to town, I could see a dark cloud hanging onto a distant hilltop. Then it came my way and dumped all over me, just to make sure I was rinsed off. And on arriving in town, the sun came back out.

After lunch I have to go see the cathedral and see about this fable about the chickens in the church. Though a small town, there seem to be quite a few medieval sites all around the town.

Well, I just cannot get enough of these beans and chorizo, which was the starter. Followed by roasted red peppers stuffed with ground veal/beef. The wine seemed thin today, which was disappointing. I think I need a milkshake.

Santo Domingo
Heart 0 Comment 0
Santo Domingo - available goodies
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 47 km (29 miles)
Total: 3,626 km (2,252 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0