Pilgrimage Across France & Spain - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

April 26, 2003

Pilgrimage Across France & Spain

Now into Peter Mayle's Provence, I will travel along the Gorge du Verdon and the Luberon en route to Arles.

From the ancient centre of Arles, I will pick up the Camino de Santiago, or pilgrimage along the route toward Santiago de Compostela in northwestern Spain. This route will take me to Toulouse, across the Pyrenees, through Pamplona (home of the running of the bulls), Leon, and finally Santiago de Compostela.

I only hope the weather will be alright for me. Considering it will be heading into winter - I am a bit concerned about the temp. Please order for me a nice warm fall with sunny days, and winds from the east!

From Santiago, over the last few hundred kilometers I will alternate between hugging the Atlantic coast and traveling inland, including to Guimares, former home of the first Portuguese royal family. By this point it will be November, so I can only hope that there is an El Nino year and not an El Snowman year or I shall be in trouble, particularly in the higher mountain passes. I'll figure that one out if it happens!

As I approach the terminus of my cycling I can only imagine how I will feel. After 100 days, 5000 km, tens of thousands of calories, four million pedal strokes, endless climbing, ten countries, and innumerable priceless memories, this voyage of discovery of a lifetime will come to an end on the cliffs of the Cabo da Roca. On these cliffs I will be at the furthest point west of continental Europe any further will put me into the Atlantic Ocean. I will have traveled from the eastern edge to the western edge.

When I mentioned this trip to a number of people, many were in awe of such an undertaking. I saw this interest as an opportunity to be able to make a difference. Now with the world possibly on the edge of another conflict, I embark on this voyage with hopes of making a difference with the people at home as well as the people I meet along the route. I hope to visit schools to tell them about my trip and possibly give a brief geography lesson and bicycling lesson on the benefits of cycle travel and its benefits for the environment, and for our bodies. Moreover, I would like to explain that we have much to learn from other people and nations in the world. In effect, I wish to expand my circle of influence to bring different peoples of the world together.

Though it has not yet been prepared, my voyage is to be posted on my home town's website www.IroquoisFalls.com as I send information. I hope to have donors listed and a continually updated figure for total dollars raised.

I really want to make a difference. I am just a regular Canadian guy who is taking a leave from work, hoping that I have enough to fund such a venture. I will, no problem.

But, wish me luck!

Though not quite the starting point, I will follow a similar route from Arles, France, to Santiago, Spain. Weather permitting, of course.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0