Will I Make It? - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

April 26, 2003

Will I Make It?

In addition to the physical training, there are a number of other matters to consider. With so many countries with each of their own languages, even their own alphabet (Cyrillic in some nations), I will have to learn or have available to me a number of key phrases. Always helpful is to know how to ask where is a hotel, restaurant or police, or such mundane things like a bathroom/toilet paper or highway out of town. In case of a "directional" problem - that is, getting lost - I am bringing a compass to keep track of my bearings. As it is, there is the great possibility of having errors on maps which will lead me to a 10 km-distant dead end. Yikes.

Another issue is to learn about each of these countries, hopefully making contacts in each of them prior to departure. I wish to do more than pass through these countries. I wish to appreciate their history, the issues they face and what makes them unique. Having traveled to other countries, I am always amazed with how much people know about Canada, yet I know so very little about them. I think our society often tends to be inward focused in many ways, while other nations are much more 'worldly'.

The trip will begin in the sweltering heat of one of the world's most ancient cities. In the past known as Byzantium and Constantinople, Istanbul is many times larger than our 'little' Toronto. Combine this with the different driving styles, somewhat described as frenetic, to say the least, I have even been recently warned by another world cycle tourist that I may be wiser and safer to leave the city on a bus and then begin the cycling. I will decide once I experience some of these drivers!

As I head northwest and into Bulgaria I head into a country not known to many. From the Lonely Planet website: 'Urban Bulgaria, especially Sofia, is much changed. In the villages though, you can still find folk who drive the donkey to work, eat homegrown potatoes and make their own cheese. The difference is that they settle down for an evening in front of the satellite TV.' ( www.lonelyplanet.com )

Continuing northwest I approach and enter Serbia, one of the republics of the former Yugoslavia. Embroiled in a bitter war for a few years, and with remaining tensions in Kosovo, I must head north to avoid the Serb-Kosovo border before turning southwest to Montenegro and the Adriatic coast. Warned to travel by day only, on paved roads, and to avoid any and all political demonstrations, I plan to be very discrete, though I will be proudly flying my Canadian flags on my bags and bike. I have been reassured that I will be fine here. However, I am sure to pass through many areas where heavy fighting occurred during these wars, leaving an unforgettable legacy.

Once on the coast of the Adriatic, just across from Italy, I will head north towards Croatia, Bosnia-Hercegovina, and finally Slovenia. Only gradually emerging from their war years, Croatia and B-H are slowly recovering their tourist business. Having never experienced places like these, I have no idea what the photos and accounts I submit will be like.

After leaving Slovenia I will head west into the Italian Alps before heading south to the Cinque Terre on the Mediterranean (??). Hugging the coast until I reach Genoa, I will continue northward toward the Valle D'Aost then head west to France.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0