Here's the route - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

April 26, 2003

Here's the route

Do you live or will you be somewhere along this route? Let me know and we can meet for a beer or two or for lunch.

I must say that based on the way I travel, this is really only a tentative route. Historically, when I travel, I have a "planned" route but I kind of take alternate routes when I am actually on the road. It all depends on what I hear is worth a gander. The more people you meet, the more you hear about the "must see" sites. So, not being on any regimented schedule or track, I go!!

I start in Istanbul and head NW to Bulgaria, (maybe a touch of Greece), Serbia, Montenegro, Croatia, Bosnia, Slovenia, Italy, France, Spain, and finally Portugal. This route is outlined on the accompanying map, but it does not show roads. I finalize that the instant I physically roll over the surface of a road somewhere - like I mention in the preceding paragraph.

I am expecting for the weather at the end of the summer to be fairly warm, but as I progress into the fall and towards winter, to get much cooler. How much cooler? I am not really sure. I only hope that I can make it through northern Spain and Portugal without any snow, and without too much cold, driving rainstorms from the Atlantic. That would not be fun at all. If worse comes to worse, I shall simply swing south in Spain to a warmer climate and hope for the best.

Look carefully and you will see my proposed route traced out in yellow and black.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0