Light packing or what? - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

April 26, 2003

Light packing or what?

This will be me for three months on the road again...

All I will have for three months will have to fit onto my BOB trailer. I have read so many of the pros and cons debating between panniers and this trailer. I have used the panniers for previous tours and was satisfied with them, though found the bike too top-heavy. On a few short-haul rides near home I have loaded up the trailer and to be honest, I don't even feel it behind me. That being said, my area in northern Ontario is as flat as a pancake. The other day I loaded in about 50 lb and found that was interesting on the soft gravel roads. It would have been worse with panniers, mind you, but I did feel the trailer behind me this time as it pulls or pushes as I climb or descend.

Seeing as I'll be in a few countries that may not have all combinations of repair parts, I shall have to bring a few more things than I am used to. That, plus I have a pile of Lonely Planet guidebooks that are just too heavy to carry. I am going to have to mail them to myself along the route and send back the ones I am done with. Other information I will simply photocopy and when I am finished with it I can throw them away or mail them back home, too. These books and tools leave little room for things like clothing, toiletries and camping gear. Oh well, should be fun - I'll do a few practice loadings this summer as my departure date nears.

Packing List:

-BIKE & CYCLING GEAR- hybrid bike, BOB trailer, mirror, spare cotter pins for trailer, spare spokes, spoke wrench, spare tubes (2 for bike, 2 for trailer), patch kit, tire iron, phillips/slot screwdriver, allen keys, swiss army knife, adjustable wrench, freewheel tool, duct tape, lube, pump, crank tool, hydration pack, Canadian flag and whip pole, chain tool, brake cable, gear cable, pliers, milk bags

-CAMPING GEAR- tent, sleeping pad, sleeping bag, ground cover, mag flashlight, duffle bag and weatherproof liner, heavy duty plastic bags, lexan spoon, knife, fork

-CLOTHING- cycling shorts(2), LS cycling jersey, SS cycling jersey, cycling jacket, light weight fleece, cycling shoes, helmet, cycling gloves, socks(2 pair), undergarments(2 pair), dark long pants, dark t-shirt, fleece jersey, ball cap, sunglasses & case, sewing kit

-TOILETRIES- toothpaste, toothbrush, soap & case, shampoo, razors, sunscreen, towel, clothesline cord, toilet paper (and ziploc bags to keep it dry), deodorant, nail clippers,

-MISCELLANEOUS- pens, notebook, guidebooks, compass, maps, address book, camera, CF card & reader, batteries and charger, electrical adapter, passport, travellers cheques, Powerade powder, Memento/gift pins, flags, postcards, non-digital watch(issues issues), keyrings to secure pack zippers, zip ties, latex gloves, walkman amfm radio (broken so sent back home), empty film tubes

-FIRST AID KIT- bandaids, tape, gauze pads, aspirin/tylenol, anti-biotic cream, anti-nausea medication, gravol,

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0