Media so far - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

April 26, 2003

Media so far

Just a short update on the media. To this point, I have been featured in the Cochrane Times-Post newspaper, the Iroquois Falls Enterprise, and I was interviewed live on CBC northern Ontario on Monday, April 28, 2003, on the morning show Morning North my Markus Schwabe. The Timmins Daily Press (www.timminspress.com)was here April 29th to interview me and write an article as well. It was published Saturday, May 3, 2003. And finally, on May 18, Jay Westman from MCTV News (Timmins, ON) interviewed me. I was featured dipping my wheel into the local river, representing the double dipping in the Bosphorus and Atlantic which will take place in August and December, respectively. This interview was shown from the MCTV Sudbury newscasts on the 18th at 6 pm and 11:30 pm. Again, it was mentioned that donations/pledges are being accepted by Lions International, in hopes of collecting $1 per km of the trip.

On Wednesday, July 9, CBC 1 will be interviewing me on the Ontario Today programme. Feel free to phone in and contribute your ideas, too.

On Tuesday, August 12, I spoke with the Timmins Press who I am adding to my mailing list. I have invited them to put anything I send to them into the paper, as well as to invite local classrooms to track my progress along the route. Once back I would welcome the opportunity to speak to these classes.

Once I return I am to contact the local paper to let them know how the trip went. As well, I am planning an evening open talk in the community to let people know about the trip.

Through this media exposure I am attempting to raise money for Lions International. Lions is an organization that funds community events around the world. If you wish to donate to Lions you may contact me or any other Lions member in your area. Please note that 100% of the donations will go directly to the Lions, so cheques are to be made to them and NOT to me.

Of course, feel free to donate to your local charity in the name of my trip as well - I just want to make a difference!

I hope to update these pages as I go; however, if you with to be added to my e-mail list, by all means contact me and I shall add you to this growing list!!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0