Monday Sep 22: Rijeka to Postojna, Slovenija: Dedicated to Aunt V's Proper Recovery - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

September 22, 2003

Monday Sep 22: Rijeka to Postojna, Slovenija: Dedicated to Aunt V's Proper Recovery

What a different day than yesterday. It keeps happening that way!

I hung around Rijeka (ie slept in) so that I could check the PO one more time for my package - in the middle of the night I had wondered if somehow I had forgotten to put POSTE RESTANTE on the package so that it was sitting in the dead letter office. Anyway, when I got there they looked through the PR and there was my package as simple as that! And I DID address it properly. So now I had my books - what a relief. The price to return my old LP was $70 CDN so I held onto it for the time being.

I headed north and out of the city where I criss-crossed paths with a couple from New Zealand who had been cycling for some months and were heading to Trieste, Italy, to complete it before returning to the UK where they were temporarily living. They said that I would love cycling in Portugal, though many roads were still cobbled.

The terrain changes quickly away from the Adriatic and I was soon into lush forests, much cooler temperatures, and very high hills on both sides of the road. And suddenly I was at the border with Slovenija. Right away I could see a difference in the cleanliness, the houses and their upkeep and the way people drove. Interesting.

When I started to tire out, I rolled down into what seemed to be a river valley, then I got to town here. I was done for the day. I tried to find my own room but could not, so resorted to the tourist info building, who said I was in luck as they just had a room available since the person did not show up. And what a place. Centre of town, amazing room and price. What a great day - everything turning out very well, indeed.

So, having just had lunch, and worked here on the local library computer, I am going to go explore the caves which are supposed to be very impressive. I shall report next time, as I do not want to hog the computer.

The way-cool caves in Postojna
Heart 0 Comment 0
Central Postojna
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 73 km (45 miles)
Total: 1,469 km (912 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0