Sunday Sep 21: Senj to Rijeka: Don't Send ANYTHING by poste restante - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

September 21, 2003

Sunday Sep 21: Senj to Rijeka: Don't Send ANYTHING by poste restante

Carbon copy morning again, so I am going to stop making entries...

Well, maybe not.

The riding went well once I got into a groove. I could see Krk Island in the distance across the channel - a big dry and brown hunk of rocky sand. And the enormous concrete span bridge - I think it is the biggest in the world.

I started looking for snacks (again, yes) when all of a sudden there was the sign for Rijeka - I was here. And going by the LP again, they said that there really is no accommodation in Rijeka, so I booked a room in a hostel 3 km before the centre. It is not the nicest place by any stretch of the imagination. In fact, it is old, decrepit (sp?), and the person next door blares music all the time.

But it gets better.

After dropping off my bags and trailer, I rode into the town centre to the main post office to pick up the maps and guide books for the next leg of my trip: Slovenija and Italia. Well, after looking around they shrugged and said it was not there, come back tomorrow to check if I like. After carefully planning and sending the stuff off more than a month ago by fast mail, it was not there. And when I asked what would happen if it comes in once I am gone, they shrugged and told me to return tomorrow. Arrgghhhhh!!!

Oh well. Maps will be 'find-able' so I will be able to continue without a hitch. However, I am not sure if I will be able to find the Lonely Planet Guidebooks anywhere. The one for Italy is really important. We shall see.

Despite this issue, I got word that the extra weight that I sent back home arrived safely. So, in the next few days I will be sending back my panniers and backpack - more weight that I have realized I do not require, especially in the mountains. The lighter the better. The pack I am not using, and the panniers are just being filled with stuff that could just as easily be placed in the trailer bag. Voila - less excess baggage.

So the rest of my day has been exploring this bustling port city, and preparing to say good-bye to the sea, until at least the other side of Italy, if not Portugal just before I leave. I will miss having it sparkling beside me all day.

Half way to the equator; half way to the North Pole.
Heart 0 Comment 0
One of the final views of salt water for a while
Heart 0 Comment 0
This beautiful facade hides an insidiously evil postal system
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 75 km (47 miles)
Total: 1,396 km (867 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0