Tuesday Sep 23: Postojna to Ljubljana: Overwhelmingly beautiful villages - Istanbul to Lisbon: From Sultanahmet to Sumol (and a sidetrip to Morocco) (Tour 7) - 2003 - CycleBlaze

September 23, 2003

Tuesday Sep 23: Postojna to Ljubljana: Overwhelmingly beautiful villages

After being Joe Tourist yesterday at the Postojna Caves, I decided to do it again and go see Predjama Castle. It is perched on a mountain and has all the goodies that 'real' castles have. And this is not some fake one sitting at an Amazing Race checkpoint - hee hee hee!!! Well, departing my great place at 7 am, I am sure there must have been frost in places - in low areas I was COLD.

When I got 'to' the castle there were signs that brought me down a cliff-like road (in steepness, that is) to this amazing place literally perched way up in the rocks. No wonder the bad guys could not get the Knight out of there.

Of course, cyclists who go down, must in turn come back up, so first thing in the morning, there I was struggling to climb back up. But I made it, finally, and hoped for level ground for the rest of the day. Well, I got part of that wish true - the downhill parts; the rest was uphill!

Nonetheless, the back roads I was on were right out of fairy tales. Tiny little villages on knolls, with the church on the hill, the cows hollering away, and Old Macdonald either out in the field, or on his moped and wearing his goggles.

Of course, this had to end, but did it ever end in a nice way: I must have rolled downhill for about 15 minutes straight. Not quite to the city but close.

Now that I am in the city, I am in love with it. I am told it is like Prague, and also like Paris but cleaner, smaller, safer and friendlier. I believe it. The pictures you see of it with the castle on the hill, the weeping willows along the river, and the church spires everywhere... that is Ljubljana (for back home, pronounce those j's like y's).

The only bad-ish bit was that at one point when I was walking around the centre, I looked down to see a tire as flat as a pancake again, and a huge shard of glass right through it. I quickly repaired it, but I must find new tires. My original rear tire had the sidewall torn out in Istanbul, my new rear tire now has huge gashes in it from all the glass I encounter every day (cyclists - when you come to cycle in Europe, spend the extra bucks and get the specially banded tires to prevent cuts otherwise you will be sorry. Also, do not bring a bike with 27 inch tires - they are very hard to find everywhere. More standard are the 26-inch, 28 inch or 700C tires.)

And now I will wander. Tomorrow is a rest day and I look forward to not cycling for a day. Coincidentally, it is supposed to rain tomorrow as well, so that fits my sched just fine. It is supposed to be sunny again on Thursday, but be much colder. Bring it on; I have gore-tex. I have been carrying it up every one of these mountains!!!

Well, in a nutshell, I got the tires, it started to rain, met K, and E & P (no names online, sorry) and had a great time meeting and visiting. I spoke to a class of 12-13 year olds which was quite enjoyable, telling them about me, my little bike ride, and Canada. If I even had an effect on just one of the students I would be pleased!

The time off the bike was great, the company amazing (people in Slovenia are so friendly and welcoming) and the pastries... well, that chocolate pastry was too good to be true.

Early morning mist-enshrouded hills
Heart 0 Comment 0
Predjama Castle clinging to the rock face
Heart 0 Comment 0
I am enamoured with this place
Heart 0 Comment 0
See what I mean?
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 50 km (31 miles)
Total: 1,519 km (943 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0