WEBSTER CITY, IOWA: Survival Isn't So Difficult In The Danger Zone - Logic And Energy Debunk The Iowa Myth: Parts 1 & 2 - CycleBlaze

September 13, 2018

WEBSTER CITY, IOWA: Survival Isn't So Difficult In The Danger Zone

I slept within view of this thing.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Ya know, if a town is really all that scenic, it shouldn't have to promote the fact on a water tower.  It's kind of like the water tower on the west end of my home town.  It reads "HISTORIC HASTINGS" which seems a bit misleading considering it rises above the historic high school, the historic Dakota County administrative complex, and the historic WalMart--all built within the last 20 years.  Just one man's opinion, I guess.

Against my better judgement, I explored Iowa Falls anyway since I had a relatively short day ahead of me.  To my surprise, the town IS fairly scenic thanks primarily to the Iowa River.

This was very pleasing to the eye--and my eye needed something pleasing at this early hour of 9:00 a.m.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I'm willing to bet every possession loaded on The Reckless Mr. Bing Bong that those waterfalls are NOT natural.
Heart 1 Comment 0
This swinging bridge over the Iowa River is famous all over the northern part of the central part of north central Iowa. I crossed it.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I suppose you could say my sightseeing excursion was simply a way to delay the inevitable task ahead of me.  That's right, today will be a major crossroad in my life, and that's assuming my life is destined to go on long enough to have a crossroad.  You see, today is the day I must ride into the most dangerous bicycling city of my entire trip--THE THIRD MOST DANGEROUS CITY IN THE UNITED STATES AFTER ONLY LOS ANGELES AND NEW YORK CITY.

It was time to get this thing over with.  I was intent on debunking this myth, I really was, but I admit to some trepidation.  Five miles into the ride my bladder started feeling nervous, so I had to make a stop at the great outdoor restroom.

IOWA! Where the tall corn grows.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Looking out from my 40-acre bathroom stall.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's route was a little busier than yesterday's in terms of car and truck traffic.  Nevertheless, I have to compliment the behavior of Iowa drivers.  Over the last three days they have moved over for me every time.  EVERY TIME!  I know this because I always swear at cars that don't give me enough room, and I haven't had to swear even ONCE on this trip.

Today's route was also the flattest one so far.  I may be in grave danger, but at least I'm not expending too much energy to get there.  The fairly strong crosswinds from the south have mostly been a minor annoyance up to this point, but if they keep up tomorrow when I have to turn south, they will become a MAJOR annoyance and I will not be so cordial toward Iowa.

Here are a few more scenes from my day:

Hello, my dim-witted friends.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I think these buildings have seen better days.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
While it's true that I haven't met very many people so far, I HAVE made friends with hundreds of farm animals.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Mark BinghamWould this Headless Horse be a companion for the Headless Horseman?
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Here's a windmill farm beyond a soybean field. Almost EVERYTHING is beyond a soybean field or a corn field in Iowa.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Eventually I reached the dreaded nightmare of a town.   Sandwiched between dangerous mega-cities with populations of several million people is lowly Webster City.  I knew it was going to be a horror worse than anything Edgar Allen Poe or Quentin Tarantino ever dreamed of, but I was prepared to endure the pain and suffering in order to debunk that crazy Iowa myth.  There was no use turning back at this point.  I hope you're ready for this.

"Why can't they just be honest and say, 'Welcome To Webster City: Bike-Hating Country.'"
Heart 1 Comment 0
I don't know . . . it just looks like Main Street USA to me.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Hey! It IS Main Street USA!
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 39 miles (63 km)
Total: 383 miles (616 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0