Day 10: McCall to Cascade Lake State Park - Soaking It All In - CycleBlaze

June 23, 2020

Day 10: McCall to Cascade Lake State Park

Today kicked our butts. Or, should I say, today kicked my butt. But that's not at all how the day started. 

We rolled out of bed at 7:30 and put ourselves together enough to head out for a bite to eat. We settled on the McCall Pancake House, and boy were we satisfied by the time we left. In particular, the cinnamon roll that we split had a dollar-to-acre ratio second only to that of the Louisiana Purchase. It was massive, and we left feeling all the more gluttonous and fueled than ever before. Best $4.50 ever.

As a result of our dining and waffling around the hotel room, we left McCall at 11am. We headed south on the beautiful Farm to Market Road, basking in the sunshine and flowers, and capturing the attention of countless bovines. 

I'm a simple man. I see a field of cows, I take a photo.
Heart 8 Comment 1
Marya MoosmanI love this!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Flowers abounded during the ride on Farm to Market Road.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Caleb and I stopped and moo'd at these cows for a few minutes. At first there were 2-3, and by the time we left there were 15 or so. They loved our serenade.
Heart 7 Comment 1
Hylin GoldMoooooo moooooo!!! Hahaha 😂 Love that you do that too! I do it every time I have the chance!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago

After 15 miles on pavement, our route took a swing up into the mountains, traveling first along comfortable travels roads before taking a steep, sinuous, and endless road up another remote mountain pass. We hadn't adequately prepared for this summit, and as a result we each ran out of water approximstely 15 miles before Cascade. Our water deficit hit me particularly hard, and I became increasingly dizzy and crabby as we ascended. That the day was stifling and the wind absent did not help, and we each slowly drowned in the misery of our sweaty bodies.

At this point of the climb I was ready to gently lay down and let mother earth reclaim me. My time was done.
Heart 4 Comment 3
Rachael AndersonSounds really tough. I’ve had a few climbs like that. Running out of water sure doesn’t help.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Marya MoosmanSo sorry you had such a miserable day. It's so awful to not have water when you need it so badly. I'm so glad you didn't succumb to mother earth.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Hylin GoldTo Marya MoosmanMe too!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago

After what felt like eons, we reached the summit and slowly proceeded along the rolling ridgeline before descending into Cascade. We indulged in a cold chocolate milk in town before settling in for the evening along Cascade Lake. 

Thankful to be in such a beautiful place.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Home for the night.
Heart 8 Comment 0

Our camp neighbors were absolutely delightful, offering us beer and inquiring all about our trip. So, while it was a truly soul-sucking day, it ended well. That's how bike touring often is, and that is why I love this hobby.

Today's ride: 49 miles (79 km)
Total: 449 miles (723 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Rachael AndersonGreat job! I’m really enjoying your journal but glad it’s not me! I’m getting to old.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago