Rampart Creek to Mosquito Creek Hostel - Finally riding my dream - CycleBlaze

August 1, 2018

Rampart Creek to Mosquito Creek Hostel

It must have rained during the night; the ground was quite wet outside but the sky was promising a nice day when I got up shortly after 6. Definitely warmer then yesterday! That is, until I joined the highway which parallels the Saskatchewan River, which influences the air temperature.

Today was a hard day. I don’t think the climb up Bow Summit is significantly harder than Sunwapta Pass, but there was a constant headwind and noticeably fewer places to stop and admire the view.

Waterfowl Lake
Heart 0 Comment 0
Waterfowl Lake
Heart 2 Comment 0
I stopped for a snack at this brand new area in Silverhorn Creek Campground. What a lovely view when there are no giant RVs to block it.
Heart 0 Comment 0

No sign at the summit! There was a turnoff to Peyto Lake Viewpoint, with the access road climbing up further. Even though I was exhausted, I decided to go for it. The reward was a nice view and a (sort of) summit sign.

Bow Summit. The sign is at the "you are here" flag on it's map, at the handicap/bus parking lot for Peyto Lake.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Peyto Lake
Heart 2 Comment 3
Jon AylingThis is incredible
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Jon AylingThat's a good word for the Canadian Rockies! Revising this journal for Cycleblaze made me think I should maybe go again this year but the logistic problems are even worse as I doubt the hostels would be open. One would have to carry camping gear plus all food for several days. I might try to go the way the Anderson's did a couple of years ago--car-based with day rides.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Jon AylingTo Jacquie GaudetThanks Jacquie - I was rather overwhelmed by that photo and couldn't think of anything more articulate to say! Indeed the logistics of getting anywhere far from home have made touring anywhere exotic pretty much impossible this summer, so I'm stuck in Southern England - which is very nice and all - but then you see a photo like this and are reminded of the real sublime!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Peyto Glacier--what's left of it
Heart 0 Comment 0
Crowds at the official and unofficial viewing areas
Heart 0 Comment 0

I continued a short distance down the highway (and it was down!) to what was labelled on my map as “Bow Glacier, Bow Glacier Falls, Num-Ti-Jah Lodge”, thinking I’d treat myself to a cold drink. No such luck, at least not for those of us unwilling to pay $5 for a small bottle of orange juice, the only option to pop. I sat on a bench outside and ate my bread and cheese, enjoying the view across Bow Lake.

The mountains aren't quite as spectacular when you are looking east
Heart 0 Comment 0
Descending to Bow Lake. That's smoke in the sky, blowing over from forest fires in British Columbia.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Exterior wall construction, Num-Ti-Jah Lodge
Heart 0 Comment 0
Quartz on top of the stone walls, Num-Ti-Jah Lodge
Heart 1 Comment 0

I arrived at the hostel at 2 and once again, got to make myself at home. I’d made up my bed and was putting my bike away when the skies opened! Pouring rain and marble-sized hail! I was so glad to be sitting in the common room reading my book! That’s another thing that is different from hostels I remember. Back then, there was no admittance before 5 pm. Or maybe it’s because these are wilderness hostels and there’s nowhere else to find shelter? Though once again, I am the only one here without a car.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 69 km (43 miles)
Total: 215 km (134 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0