Coming home and final thoughts - Finally riding my dream - CycleBlaze

August 6, 2018

Coming home and final thoughts

I packed my bike when I returned from the zoo. I used my new Thule RoundTrip Pro (which I'd bought to transport my mountain bike to the Yukon) because it requires so much less disassembly and shoehorning than my other case. Especially nice, I don't have to remove the fork! I stuffed a few things in so I didn't need to check a second bag, leaving me with only one pannier and my handlebar bag as carryon.

I was also pleased when WestJet only charged $25 for me to check the bike. Take that, Air Canada!

Would I do this trip again?

- I would definitely take the train again; getting to Jasper from Vancouver was much better than expected.
- I would stay at hostels again, especially if it meant lightening my load or avoiding camping in the rain.
- Rather than exit to Calgary, I would head south either west or east of the Rockies and consider taking Amtrak home.
- I'd make the trip in May or June to increase the odds of clear skies. The persistent smoke haze did not enhance the views.

I don't have much success with photos from planes, but this one shows the structure of the Rocky Mountains rather nicely, I think.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0