Calgary Weekend - Finally riding my dream - CycleBlaze

August 5, 2018

Calgary Weekend

So, a weekend in Calgary. That's why I came here, right?

Actually, the family reunion on Saturday was the excuse for the ride and it was fun. But that was Saturday and what about Sunday?

My brother and sister-in-law took the opportunity to spend the day at the Calgary International Blues Festival. My sister and her family explored downtown. I went to the zoo.

I rode my bike there, using Calgary's bike routes. They are a little different from Vancouver's. For example, along 12th Avenue SW, there was a stop sign every block! In Vancouver, the intersections would have been modified to give the cycle route priority, with traffic calming to prevent the route being taken over by cars since it's parallel to a major street. It also would have been good to have signs on the Bow River Pathway to direct visitors arriving that way to the zoo--especially since its website mentions that the zoo is "conveniently located just off the Bow River Pathway."

I'm not sure how I feel about animals in captivity, but it certainly is a way to see animals from far-away places. Once again, I wished I'd brought a better camera!

In the Land of Lemurs: Black-and-White Ruffed Lemur. They can be nearly 1.2 m long and weigh up to 4 kg. Talk about lightweight climbers!
Heart 0 Comment 0
In the Land of Lemurs: Red-Fronted Lemurs. These are much smaller, 55 cm and 2.3 kg.
Heart 0 Comment 0
In the Land of Lemurs: Ring-Tailed Lemurs. Also only 55 cm but relatively tubby at 3.4 kg.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I wonder how this monkey keeps its tail so clean
Heart 0 Comment 0
In the Dorothy Harvie Gardens
Heart 0 Comment 0
Of course, I had to see the giant pandas. This is one of the cubs born in 2015 while their parents were at the Toronto Zoo.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I wonder if the blue (presumably male) bird thinks he's camouflaged?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Tiger training. Youri is a male tiger who has only been at the Calgary Zoo for a few weeks so he is being trained to do things the keepers or veterinarians might require. (Of course, they really want him to make kittens with one of the resident females.) The presenter noted that the zoo had to be evacuated during the 2013 floods so getting the animals to respond to training is important. Youri's attention is firmly on what's in the trainer's bucket.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Can I have some? Pleeeze?
Heart 0 Comment 0
You have to touch this red ball with your nose first!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Youri gets a special treat when training is done. He took it away to enjoy in peace.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I took a roundabout way back to the house...

Today's ride: 43 km (27 miles)
Total: 492 km (306 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0