Day 57 Barstow- San Bernardino - John's Half -N- Half Adventure - CycleBlaze

October 18, 2018

Day 57 Barstow- San Bernardino

# read the map more often

Today was the push to make it to Claremont, I had a warm showers host lined up. Didn't quite work out, I made it to the San Bernardino. I missed the turn in Victorville and went miles out of my way. Once I got back and on the right Road I probably wasted an hour, maybe more.I rode on the route the ACA Maps said to for about 10 MI then I got fed up with the bumpy road and getting buzzed by cars. So I got on the interstate about two exits earlier than the map said to. Wasn't long before I was going over Cajon Pass. Wow, it was fast, I didn't mind the speed, but the Gusty winds made me brake a lot which means I had to stop and let the rims cool off a couple of times. The shoulder isn't huge combined with dodging around trying to miss road debris, and then they put storm water drains on the shoulder with grates wide enough to swallow a bike tire. I don't know which would be worse getting hit by a truck, or dropping a tire in one of these grates at 35 miles an hour and having the bike stop and slamming you face-first over the handlebars into the pavement. Thank goodness none of that happened. I parked myself in a Rodeway Inn close to the route

I finally got a picture of a train I've been passed by trains I've seen trains but I've never got a picture of one
Heart 1 Comment 0
Elmer's Bottle Tree Ranch
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Woohoo another Summit
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 90 miles (145 km)
Total: 3,222 miles (5,185 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0