Day 40 Santa Fe-Madrid,NM - John's Half -N- Half Adventure - CycleBlaze

October 1, 2018

Day 40 Santa Fe-Madrid,NM

In touch with my inner tourist

I said my goodbyes to Elaine and Art my warm showers hosts. I was off to the town of Santa Fe, the warm shower hosts lived in a a suburb of Santa Fe called El Dorado. On the way into town the truck shrapnel bit me again, I didn't get all the wire out of the tire. I'm a darn sure it was all out this time, and I found another wire in tire, but it hadn't worked its way in yet.

Made my way to a bike shop and picked up another inner tube and some tire sealant. While there I met Yates and Susan we chatted and I told him about my problem of the valve core coming out and he gifted me a valve tool. Thanks Yates.

Next on the agenda was to go to the plaza. The plaza had a lot of native jewelry Craftsman, and artist. Pretty cool place to wander around. Of course the whole area has touristy stuff, shops, restaurants and such.

Got a bite and a Mexican restaurant, then off to off to Madrid some 30 miles up the road. The last three miles were hilly but nothing too bad. Made it to Madrid only to find a camping that was listed on the map was not there. I asked a local woman about camping in her yard, and she said yes. One of her dogs had to run away and she and her son were out searching for her. Sharon and Jason were their names Sharon had to go back to Albuquerque. Jason and I started talking about motorcycles since he had two sitting there. He asked me if I was on Adventure Rider( a motorcycling social media site). One thing led to another, and I realized I had read him and his wife's Journal of their Alaska trip. He and his wife living are in Pittsburgh. I met him in New Mexico he's here helping his mom fix up the house, small world. It was a very pleasant evening chatting with Jason about all things motorcycle related. They let me put my tent up on their deck it's pretty much the only flat space they had, but it worked out great.

My warm showers host Elaine and Art
Heart 0 Comment 0
Yates and Susan Yates gifted me a valve stem tool
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The center of the Plaza
Heart 0 Comment 0
Typical Plaza scene
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cool wind vane sculptures
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The mountains are calling me I must go
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 44 miles (71 km)
Total: 2,261 miles (3,639 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0