Day 39 Romeoville-Santa Fe - John's Half -N- Half Adventure - CycleBlaze

September 30, 2018

Day 39 Romeoville-Santa Fe

Blowing in the wind

Today was another day of limited services. First stop was in Pecos station store about 20 miles in, nice break, great view of the Mesa. Lunch stop in Rowe at a shady spot at the post office. I was planning on staying at a hostel in town, but one of the warm showers host called me when I was about an hour away from Santa Fe. Got to love it when a plan comes together.

The ride was hilly, but I expected that. The wind started up at 8 and was a strong head / sidewind all day, which made for a slow day. The scenery was great so that made up for it. I was on Frontage roads mostly. Then I had to get on I-25 coming off the Glorrieta Pass there are no other options, there were a lot of rocks and dirt on the shoulder, that was okay I can deal with that. They are getting ready to start some construction so they put up those concrete walls on the shoulder, taking the shoulder down to about 3 feet. So you got a white line, Rumble strip ,and 3 ft of shoulder then a wall. Somebody dumped sand up against the wall on one section, so now my three feet is about 18 inches, if that wasn't enough then I had to shoot between two big chunks of asphalt. Because of that I had no choice but to run over some truck shrapnel which later gave me a flat tire, fifth one I believe. I made it here in one piece though. The host have a beautiful Adobe home, Great Outdoor spaces. They took great care of me, wonderful people.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nice view of the Mesa
Heart 0 Comment 0
First stop
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is for my wife who thinks that only dead snakes are good snakes. It's a pretty good snake
Heart 0 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltSuch a shame. It is a nice gopher snake. Wonderful population control for disease ridden rodents of all kinds.

Here is one of many informational websites.

https://www.desertusa.com/reptiles/gopher-snake.html
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
These two wanted to race me
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nice shoulder goes away going up the pass
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 58 miles (93 km)
Total: 2,217 miles (3,568 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0